fajrdrako: ([James Bond])


[livejournal.com profile] rosiespark sent me this wonderful link to The Graham Norton show with Daniel Craig, Judi Dench and Javier Bardem, all of whom are utterly delightful. As one would wish. The show itself has its annoyance, but they are funny and quite wonderful.

I'm reading more Skyfall fic, especially 00Q stories. I haven't found any first-class stories yet - they're rare enough anyway in any fandom, and this is a new one. I've found a few that come close, and a few others that are extremely good in various ways. Worthy of recommending, if I get my act together and make notes. I'll have to go back to the stories: I don't even remember authors' names, let alone titles.

As an example of the good stuff, here's a great line from stellary's story the end is where we begin - a description of Bond: Killer on a tightrope with a whisper in his ear and winter in his eyes, all katana-sharp suits and radioactive blue. But then, I should expect good things from a writer whose title is a paraphrase of T.S.Eliot. If you steal, steal from the best. Someone give that woman inspiration for a good plot.

There are certain story tropes that I got tired of very, very quickly - like Q scolding Bond for breaking his gadgets. I know Q doesn't have a lot of scenes in Skyfall and there isn't much material to working with, but we don't need to turn what we have into clichés by too much repetition.

I see a tendency of slash writers to feminize Q, or to make him sound like a thirteen year old girl... which I don't like as a general rule, but some of the stories are fun anyway. I am aware that people haven't had time to write anything substantial in this fandom yet, myself included. I am just... impatient. And greedy.

One story casual referred to Q as Bond's boss, which made me blink. Where'd they get that? Bond is management; Q is support staff. Q can and does give Bond instructions on equipment, but he's in no way Bond's superior. Rather the contrary. And either way round, it raises some of the interesting/tricky questions about personal relationships with colleagues and subordinates.

One story's summary contained the phrase, "Bond is not subtle." No? I thought Bond was very subtle indeed.

Good news for the movie's success: 'Skyfall' Returns to No. 1. It's making money, which bodes well for the next Bond movie. Makes me want to go and see it again. Properly, in a theatre.

Is there a place people are actually talking about the movie? Forums? Something apart from individual blogs? I'm most interested in the slashy context, but any context at all will do!

It's that or a twelve-step programme...

fajrdrako: ([Iron Man])


[livejournal.com profile] auriaephiala pointed me to this exchange, and I'm glad she did. Very interesting.

Starting point: lyda222's Livejournal, where she talks about Rob Bricken's Fan Fiction Friday on io9, in which he ridicules a Steve/Tony slash story and a Harry Potter story.

And she makes some very cogent, significant points: that fanfic, especially erotic fanfic, and especially slash, is very personal, written by fans for fans, and it takes courage - I would add, and passion - to put it out in the world. To see strangers ridicule it is distressing. Yes, I'd be upset to see a stranger ridiculing my stories in a public forum like io9 - or anywhere else.

I don't ike to see mockery in public forums. If you must mock, mock what you love, not what you hate. Hatred isn't funny. I don't mind scathing reviews - I've written a few of them myself. But ridicule for the sake of ridicule is cruel. You shouldn't do it at all, and if you do, you shouldn't do it in public and you certainly shouldn't do it in such a way that the object of the mockery will know about it. Why encourage unkindness in a public forum? Aren't we supposed to be putting an end to bullying?

Moreover, if you're going to ridicule something, it's way too easy to do so as an outsider. People often ridicule what they don't like, just because they don't like it. ("Look at that ugly sweater on sale! Who'd wear that?") Respect for the tastes of others is a very difficult lesson to learn. To my eyes, it's an important one.

When I read lyda222's comments I thought io9 would reply: suck it up. Or some version of "fan fiction is fair game". And I think the consequences of that ultimately would be for slash fandom to go underground again, to retreat to the days when it was a secret; scattered, hard to find, kept under passwords and in fannish communities that were hard to find and hard to get into. I'm not sure how many people realize it, but fandom is fragile, even if stronger and bigger than it used to be. And there are a lot of people out there who would attack it, in various ways and for different reasons, with various weapons.

It's all the worse that this happened in a forum for fans - not some right-wing Rush Limbaugh site.

I was surprised and delighted to see that io9 was less insensitive that I expected, and the feature was dropped, without an apology, but with an explanation by io9 editor Annalee Newitz, who said:

    Most fanfic archives and communities are run as safe spaces, places where writers are encouraged to pour their hearts and fantasies out without fear of reprisals. Many of the people who wrote to us to explain their concerns about FFF used the word "shaming" to describe what they felt the feature was doing. Again, this was not our intent, but intent doesn't matter.

So what did they think they were doing, and how clueless can they be? They did what they did: what kind of innocence can they plausibly claim? That they didn't mean to subject fans to scathing mockery? By their own admission, that's exactly what they intended. They may think they were just targeting bad writing, but they weren't. They were targeting a genre, and the fans who read it.

I thought Rob Bricken's comment was both insensitive and stupid:

    On the plus side, I can stop reading hundreds of shitty fan fic each week, and may give my liver a chance to recover. I'm happy so many of you enjoyed it and will miss it, but I promise you there's no need to rake io9 over the coals. Annalee and io9 have been incredibly supportive of me and FFF, but it just didn't jibe with io9's audience. It happens.

Clearly he's not someone I'd want to invite over for supper. He sounds like a total lout. I'm so glad to hear that open cruelty isn't something that jibes with io9's audience. Reassures me no end.

A point that wasn't made on any of these forums - but which seems significant to me - is that slash is a women's fandom of fic written by and for women, and here we have a man ruthlessly demeaning it, and a female editor making the decision to stop the feature.

Looks to me like sexism at its worst.

fajrdrako: ([Doctor Who] - 01)


I haven't found time yet to write about FanExpo in Toronto - and yes, I plan too - but I did make up a scrapbook page from the program book. Geared to the people I saw, the things I did.



I also framed the autographs I got.

Smiling at the memories...

fajrdrako: (Default)




One thing Lev Grossman's article did was get people talking about fanfic, at least within fandom. Which is a good thing; I think we should do it more often.

Fans seem to be much less defensive about fanfic these days, and that's good in many ways. In the distant past, we didn't need to be defensive because we were so hidden: if you knew about us, you were one of us. And woe betide anyone who betrayed the secrets of the sanctum to the outside world.

Then it became an open secret, an island of both pride and paranoia surrounded by either indifference or hostility. And now... well. It's an open secret with less shame and less paranoia necessary.

Pim sent me a link to a discussion of the Grossman article on Metafilter. I found myself wanting to comment on their comments, so here I am. )

Tuesday...

Jul. 6th, 2010 11:38 pm
fajrdrako: ([White Collar] - Neal)




Nice day. Hot day, and I was actually out of doors. I had lunch at Montana's at South Keys with Sheila: I had a delicious steak, and Sheila was kind enough to cut it for me. Then errands: picking up pills at the drugstore, getting my glasses fixed (I'd stepped on them), and browsing Chapter's.

I was exhausted afterwards, and napped.

Then [personal profile] fairestcat, [personal profile] commodorified, [personal profile] random, and [livejounal.com profile] auriaephiala came over with [livejounal.com profile] robyn59 for a fannish dinner - spending the first part of the evening cooling off with iced drinks and talking about Time Team and Bluesfest. Then we watched White Collar 1x01 ("Pilot") because [livejounal.com profile] robyn59 hadn't seen it (and it's fun to watch again), and Leverage 3x01 "The Jailhouse Job" - which I thought was terrific, better than most of the second season.

Seems to me that it's a sign of how hood White Collar is, that I've seen that episode about a thousand times, and still love it, and still laugh at the jokes.

Exhausted now.

fajrdrako: ([Doctor Who] - 02)
It was [livejournal.com profile] raynedaze's birthday today. I managed to make a card (one handed!) and [livejournal.com profile] auriaephiala brought cupcakes from the new store at Bank and Strathcona, The Flour Shop. Our meal was actually totallydelightful: a light chicken stirfry by [personal profile] commodorified and lush fruit salad by [personal profile] fairestcat, salad and rice. I'm not holding my weight - I did nothing - but no one seemed to mind. Actually, come to think of it, I made rice. Not so much nothing. I feel better to think that.

We spent some time just eating and talking.

Then we watched Doctor Who, "The Pandorica Opens", and the accompanying Confidential, "Alien Abduction". It was very cool to see them film at Stonehenge, and I like the way they geared the story to the calendar - the Solstice and Amy's day, June 26, 2010.

Then of course we talked and speculated about the plot. )

fajrdrako: ([White Collar])


I think we finally have the pattern of the Perfect Fannish Meal. I make a wheatless quiche - tonight's was spinach and Feta - [livejournal.com profile] auriaephiala brings a home-made salad, while [personal profile] fairestcat, [personal profile] commodorified, [personal profile] random and [livejournal.com profile] raynedaze bring a beautiful assortment of vegetables, fruit, cheese, dips and bread or crackers. It's delicious, it's nicely snackable, healthful, and fun.

Except tonight [personal profile] commodorified and [personal profile] random didn't come, but [personal profile] fairestcat brought along [personal profile] lovelokest, whom I'd met in passing at the wedding but didn't really know. I thought she was terrific, though - more so when she admired my photo of Bodie on the wall, and even more still when I saw the picture of Kitty Pryde on her DW account. A woman of refined and excellent taste. Even more so when she enjoyed watching White Collar with us.

So once again I spent an evening watching episodes of White Collar, and so far from getting bored with episodes I've now seen over and over, I'm enjoying myself more all the time. Tonight we watched "Book of Hours", "Flip of the Coin", and "The Portrait". What fun.

fajrdrako: (Default)


[livejournal.com profile] catalenamara's interesting post on fandoms today made me want to answer her questions in a post of my own. I'd love to hear and see other people's answers, too.

On writing this, and thinking about it, it clarified a little of what fandom is for me. It's falling in love with a book, show, or movie, and then finding other people to share my enthusiasm with. The enthusiasm was there from the beginning; the fandom was a bonus. In some cases, before the Net, I was a fandom of one. It's more fun when you've hundreds of people to share you passion - especially when it comes to slash fandoms - but that isn't the impetus.

Q: Have you ever followed friends/favorite authors into a fandom without ever having seen/read the source material? )

Q. Have you ever really enjoyed the source material, read the work of specific authors into a fandom, and yet have no interest in the fandom as a whole? )

Q. Have you ever been strenuously pimped by your friends into another fandom and immediately fell in love with the source material. )

Q. Have you ever gotten into a TV show/movie before your friends and busily pimped the source material to them in the hopes that a fandom would ensue? )

Q. Have you ever gotten into a TV show/movie and tried to pimp it to your friends only to find out that they’d just gotten into it as well and were about to pimp right back? )

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 10:03 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios