fajrdrako: ([Misc] - 02)


I am not currently reading Batman. I'm not reading anything at DC, partly because I can't afford it, partly because I prefer the Marvel Universe, and partly because I a miffed with the policy at DC of changing continuity so often that most of my favourite characters do not exist, or are changed beyond recognition - and sometimes I don't even know which.

But today A headline caught my eye: Carrie Kelley Returns? DC Tease a New Robin.

I knew they were going to do away with Damien as Robin - not a good move, in my opinion, because I've loved Damien's Robin over the past while. When I was reading Batman, Damien was the reason for it. Assuming that Dick Greyson is out of the running to be Robin because he's Nightwing, and adult, my choices as Robin would be:

3. Tim Drake
2. Damien Wayne
1. Stephanie Brown

So now they pull Carrie Kelly out of the hat. If you don't know, Carrie was the Robin who accompanied the aging Batman in Frank Miller's Batman: The Dark Knight Returns. An alternate future story. As far as I know, she's never been in regular continuity.



She isn't Stephanie Brown - but then, she hasn't been messed with until she was hardly a character any more. Stephanie was manipulated and then sent away by Batman, tortured, killed, reborn, rebooted, renamed, and switched around so often I lost interest: she was too many things, and she had been perfect as Robin.

Could Carrie Kelly take her place? Sure, of course, yes. It would be fun to see her in regular continuity. Regular Batman readers may already have done so; I don't know.

Frankly, if we can't have Stephanie, I'd rather they kept Damien. I know change boosts sales; I don't have to like the atmosphere of constant change in comics. I'd rather get to know, love, and stick with the characters we have.

Also: They aren't saying Carrie Kelly is going to be Robin. This is a tease, not a return... so far.

I suppose I might be happy with an entirely new Robin. Selina Kyle's daughter? Yeah, I know, her baby was retconned away along ago and Helena Kyle doesn't exist, but in this new world, anything is possible.

Or: a child of Damien, come from the future. Or a child of Dick Greyson, or other Bat-related character.


fajrdrako: (Default)


I just learned that there is a city (and a river, and a province) in Turkey called Batman. Which has, among many other things, a university. Here's a map.

How cool.

fajrdrako: (Default)




I read this article, The Big Sexy Problem with Superheroines and Their 'Liberated Sexuality' today, and then I was sorry I did, because I found it disturbing. Not because of the things that angered the author, Laura Hudson, but because the more she tried to explain what angered her, the more I failed to understand.

I am a feminist, and a comic book reader, and yes, there is sexism is comics. But I think there is more sexism in television and in advertising. I am upset by the changes in characterization of DC's characters with their latest reboot, because so many of the heroes seem less heroic than they were - I'd be ranting more if I was more of a DC fan. But that isn't what's bothering Laura Hudson. It doesn't seem to be so much the bad characterisation that bothers her, but the combination of bad characterization, sexist art, and the red lacy bra.

I read her reasons for her anger and I felt vaguely guilty: as if I'm a failed feminist or a bad comic book reader. I don't know if I'd like those comics - I haven't read them - but should I feel guilty that I think the idea of Batman and Catwoman having sex on a rooftop is, well, kind of hot? And pretty much in character, too.

I can't tell if the problem is what happens in the comic, or how it happens. Bad dialogue, or bad ideology, or both? I am tempted to read these comics - well, the Batman/Catwoman story, anyway - to see what I think. Sometimes I read articles like this, and I wonder if the author is just reacting to any depiction of sexuality that includes what men like. I don't think Hudson was doing that - but I wondered why she reacted so strongly to these stories.

Problem is, it's one of those triggery subjects that I don't even like to bring up. Because so many people feel so very strongly when they see things as wrong, particularly demeaning depictions of women - and yes, so do I. I just seem to have... unusual triggers. Frankly, Hudson's anger made me feel so uncomfortable I didn't finish the article. Why, and why not? I don't know. I'll have to think about it.

I do wish we saw a half-dressed Batman more often. But he has his moments. And generally speaking, I love the stories where Batman gets sex or romance.

An nice antidote to this article was reading the latest issue of X-Men Legacy by Mike Carey this evening; a comic full of strong and interesting women. And strong and interesting men, too.

Families...

Oct. 2nd, 2010 12:47 am
fajrdrako: (Default)




From The Fannish Five: Name five characters who would love to attend a family reunion.

Seems oddly worded, but if the question means "five characters whose family reunion would be interesting to see" - well, then! Funny how most of the characters in most of what I read lack relatives. So many orphans. And so many people with villainous brothers.

  1. Francis Crawford of Lymond. If we allow all the semi-related to attend - the illegitimate half-sister, the adopted son on his enemy, the uncle/father and the grandfather/father... What a bunch they would be! I am myself a great fan of Rankin, the First Baron, and would love to see him and Sybilla together.

  2. The Summers family from X-Men. Add in the alternate future generations (like Rachel, always a favourite) and the dead and the demonic... Not sure where Jean Grey would fit in here: maybe she'd better stay dead, though it would be fun to see Emma Frost (Scott Summers' current love, the White Queen) meet Madeline Pryor (his first wife, the Goblin Queen). Polaris and Magneto should be there - would that include Wanda and Pietro, as Havok's ex-half-brother- and ex-half-sister-in-law? Or Wiccan and Speed, as the semi-existant magical half-nephews? And Hulking, as the boyfriend of one of them? Heh: this could be fun, figuring how big a crowd we could get. Can we add in Cable, his wife and son (long-dead in the distant future) and Stryfe? At some point, thinking too much about the Summers family ends in a headache from exploding brain synapses.

  3. A sort of tie here for two comic book 'families' who both are and are not literal families: the Batman family (at DC) and the Wolverine family (at Marvel).

    The first consists basically of those in batcostume and their closest friends: Bruce Wayne, his son Damian, his adopted son Dick, the various Robins, Batgirl, Batwoman, Oracle, the Birds of Prey, Alfred. Maybe Catwoman (with Helena? can I call her Helena Wayne?1) or Talia al-Ghul2.

    Though Wolverine tends to treat the X-Men as family, and has had a number of wives and lovers, the Wolverine family consists of only three people: Logan, his son Daken, and his clone X-23. Probably better not to have them all in the same room together, though in the right circumstances, it might be fun. I'd like to see X-23 and Daken compare notes. Have they ever met, canonically? Not as far as I know - which means it's a meeting just waiting to happen.

  4. The Winchesters: Sam, Dean, and their father John. Just because I adored John and would like to see him again in any capacity. Castiel could join them - a guardian angel is sort of like a family member, right? I'd like to see Castiel meet John Winchester. Then there's the newly-alive-again grandfather and those cousins. Guess we'd have to allow Adam, dead or alive.

  5. The Doctor in Doctor Who. For someone who has no relatives and is the last of his kind, there are an awful lot of potential relatives: a mother we seem to have barely glimpsed, a father, at least one wife and possibly two (can we count River Song?), a child or children unspecified, a granddaughter Susan, a clone-daughter, and - anyone else? Well, since it's a big party, and can include all of time and space, I'd allow any of the regenerations of the Doctor who want to attend, and any of the companions as well. The TARDIS is big. It could handle the crowd.


---

1 Let me explain this a little for non-readers of Batman: Selina Kyle (Catwoman) had a daughter named Helena. We never learned for sure who Helena's father was, but Bruce Wayne showed considerable paternal-style interest in her, and we know Bruce and Selina had been sleeping together at some point before that. The Earth-2 Batman (don't ask, it gets complicated) and the Earth-2 Catwoman had a daughter named Helena Wayne, who became The Huntress.

2 Talia al-Ghul is, canonically, the mother of Batman's son Damian.



Sunday...

Aug. 8th, 2010 09:35 pm
fajrdrako: ([Batman])




A rainy Sunday.

I made another quiche. Watched Doctor Who ("The Hungry Earth" and "Cold Blood"), Sherlock (second episode), The Professionals ("Blind Run") and Batman:
Under the Red Hood
with and [livejournal.com profile] maaseru. I already knew the general outline of the story from the comics - but enjoyed seeing the way it was handled in the movie. I didn't much like the way they drew the adults, but I really liked the writing and acting at the climax.

I enjoyed it all, especially The Professionals, which was, if anything, better than I remembered - except that probably isn't possible.

did a rather amazing job of hooking up her computer with my TV. I was impressed.

Did many arm exercises.

fajrdrako: ([Batman])




Day 16 - A movie that you used to love but now hate

Batman, the 1989 movie.

I liked it when it first came out, because even thought I thought Michael Keaton was an appalling Batman (and, even more important, Bruce Wayne), I was so relieved it wasn't Adam West, and the movie was fairly intelligent - possibly the only time I have liked a performance by Jack Nicholson. There were many things I liked about it, including the Danny Elfman score.

But as time went by, my tolerance for Tim Burton movies waned, and my standards for comic book movies went up. So: I loved it once, hate it now.

fajrdrako: ([Batman])


I'm a Marvel girl through and through, but I've always loved Batman.

Batman: Broken City is a story by Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso that appeared in Batman #620-625, back in 2005. I liked the cover of the hardcover version. And I have in the past enjoyed Brian Azzarello's writing, though usually not as much as I'd like to.

I should have read the blurb, which promised a "neo-noir flavor and grimy realism". Or the forward by editor Bob Shreck that said it was inspired by Risso's "love for Batman and respect for Frank Miller". "Inspired" being a euphemism for "Eduardo Risso decided to draw this comic in Frank Miller's style, but he doesn't do it as well as Frank Miller." It makes a person think of the continuum (or perhaps it's just a slippery slope) between a tribute, a copy, a rip-off and a lack of originality on the part of the artist. This isn't the Frank Miller of Batman: Year One either, it's the Batman of Sin City. What, you thought Batman lived in Gotham City? The difference is subtle.

There are two ways of looking at Batman: as the sane man in a mad world, and a heroic, tragic figure; or a crazy man in a crazy world, and a dangerous, tragic figure. I like the first approach. Azzarello follows the second, in which Batman is over-muscled and psychologically troubled. He likes to beat up crooks and brutalize informants. This isn't my Batman. This Batman is way crazier than I like. And though I don't mind a Gotham City full of distorted villains and whorish vamps, I was left feeling that this comic just wasn't written for my demographic.

Not that I entirely disliked it: it had some good lines, especially in the narration. It starts with an extended metaphor of God using rain to piss on Gotham City. (That's why when it rains, it's not so much water, as it's a relief.") And:
Dawn. For an optimist, it's the start of a new day.

For a pessimist? Same thing.
Or the femme fatale's line to Batman:
Gotham's a big place. It's easy to get lost. You should try it sometime.


fajrdrako: ([Comics] - Batman)


New comics in the Batman line. Interesting case of 'compare and contrast'.

The first, I read because I am interested in Stephanie Brown. She was, briefly, Robin, before Batman fired her for disobeying his orders and saving his life. She was bright, she was smart, she was tough, she was entertaining - and Batman was in the wrong, but he got Tim Drake back as Robin. Then Steph became Spoiler, and she was tortured to death. That made me grumpy. Now she's back as Batgirl.

This made me happy.

Then I read the first three issues of the new Batgirl by Bryan G. Millar, and I am not so happy. Three issues, with precious little of substance, let alone plot. Stephanie wants to be Batgirl; Barbara Gordon, who was formerly Batgirl, now the wheelchair-hero Oracle, thinks she shouldn't be. Basically, Stephanie spends three issues trying to prove herself to Babs, who fears she can't handle the danger. (What, being tortured to death wasn't dangerous enough?) Steph eventually succeeds in impressiong Oracle, and is given the original Batgirl cowl.

Big freakin' deal.

I'm seeing great action and suspense in Detective Comics with Batwoman (who is also female), great action and intrigue with Red Robin (who is also young) - but three whole issues of a comic just to prove Stephanie's right to exist? To justify herself as such to Barbara Gordon? Why, for goodness sakes? This isn't an action comic, it's teen angst navel-gazing and I'm not happy to see it, especially with a snappy heroine I used to - wanted to - like. I am, in fact, mildly disgusted. They've turned Steph, who already was terrific, into a girl-teen hero wannabe. Patsy and Hedy revisited. Ugh.

Then I read Red Robin, because I was curious as to who Red Robin was, all the more so when I heard he was Tim Drake - formerly Robin. But Batman is dead1 and his friends are all playing musical identities. Nightwing is Batman, Robin is Red Robin, and I was intrigued.

Well I might be. Chris Yost's story of bloody assassins and covert action as Tim infiltrates Ra's Al Ghul's organization is terrific - not deep, but fast-paced and intriguing. Assassins fight assassins and Tim's in the middle of it. I particularly loved the way issue #5 ended... )

I love this.

~ ~ ~

1 Yeah, yeah, yeah, he's dead in comic book terms, which simply means we'll get some good angsty stories before he turns up again.

Batman...

Oct. 24th, 2009 10:55 pm
fajrdrako: ([Comics] - Batman)


I read Batman R.I.P. by Grant Morrison, beautifully drawn by Tony S. Daniel.

It has the sexiest Batman scene I've ever seen, and believe me, Batman has had some sexy scenes. In this one, Batman comes back to Wayne Manor after a hard night's work fighting crime, goes past Alfred and Robin up the stairs, down the corridors, shedding his cowl, cape and shirt as he goes, stripping until he gets to his bedroom, where he steps into Jezebel Jet's arms in a passionate kiss.

Whew. Hot.

Sometimes they get it right. Done right, Batman is the sexiest character in comics.

The whole comic is a nice orchestrated (and utterly creepy) story of psychological horror in which a villain named the Black Glove leads a band of loonies to attack Bruce Wayne with drugs on deep psychological levels, in order to destroy him - and it becomes a game of oneupmanship as to who holds the upper hand, who holds the key to Bruce's identity - and his sanity.

All this in a beautiful deluxe hardcover so beautifully printed and coloured I was stopping just to savour the more luxurious panels.

Best line: Alfred says to Robin:
It's an American Idol era of equal opportunity supercrime, Master Tim. Every Tom, Dick or Harry with a make-up box and rampant Tourette's fancies himself the next Joker.


fajrdrako: (Default)


From [livejournal.com profile] fannish5: Aug 29, 2008 - Name 5 characters you think are often misunderstood by fans.

  1. Torchwood - Captain Jack Harkness. As with all the Torchwood characters, fan characterization puts him all over the map - which is, of course, fair enough, but I have a very strong notion of what his character is and I find the variances jarring, especially when Jack is depicted as cruel or uncaring. I see Jack as very much of a "what you see is what you get" kind of character. By nature, a sweet, loving man with a sense of mischief and and curiosity about other people; forced by war and circumstances into the military when young, which made him develop an inner toughness and pragmatism as necessary. He cares very much about others, and feels protective about the world. He tries endlessly to make reparation for the time he almost destroyed humanity in "The Doctor Dances", and to make the Doctor proud of him.

  2. Doctor Who - The Doctor. Here I think we simply have a difference of interpretation, depending on the fan, and a divergence between those who became fans of the new Doctors (Nine and Ten) and those who came to know and love the Doctor from earlier periods, especially those who did so in childhood. I see the Doctor as much less alien, psychologically and physiologically, than many do: it's his humanity that appeals, not his alienness.

    And he's very sexy. Flirty, even, in all the wrong ways.

  3. Batman - Batman or Bruce Wayne. I have heard many fans say that Batman is insane - and I couldn't disagree more. I interpret Batman as the sane man in the insane world, who takes on himself the dangers he does not want other to undergo because he feels protective of his city. He is obsessive because he needs to be, but it's the obsession of genius, not of madness.

  4. The Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett - Francis Crawford of Lymond. There are fans who love and appreciate Lymond. There are other fans (and readers who do not become fans) who see him as petty, whining, self-obsessed, rude, unkind, and arrogant. Except for the last point, they are totally wrong.

  5. Shakespeare - Hamlet. It never would have occurred to me to include the Prince of Denmark in this list, except that over the last few years I've met a number of people who don't like the man for a litany of reasons - all of which I think are a misunderstanding of the character. Hamlet is the perfect gothic hero: dark, romantic, funny, insightful, intelligent, judicious, and caring.


fajrdrako: (Default)


Today was a day to watch movies. I was ensconced on [livejournal.com profile] maaseru's sofa from an early hour, watching movies with [livejournal.com profile] josanpq, [livejournal.com profile] maaboroshi and [livejournal.com profile] lunacy_gal.

We watched:
  • Ice Blues, the fourth Donald Strachey movie, which I'd seen before;

  • Big Eden, which I'd also seen before, but which I think I enjoyed more the second time round, knowing what to expect. I certainly enjoy watching Eric Schweig!

  • Shakespeare Retold: The Taming of the Shew, with Rufus Sewell and Shirley Henderson. Rufus Sewell is one of those actors I adore and would watch in anything - and Petrucchio just might be his best role yet. Shirley Henderson was Ursula in the remarkable Doctor Who episode "Love and Monsters" and Moaning Myrtle in Harry Potter. This adaptation of The Taming of the Shrew was magnificent, in my opinion: it is in so many ways one of Shakespeare's more problematic plays for our time, and yet, done right, is exceptionally clever and funny.

    Actually, the more remarkable thing about Henderson's performance here is that she reminded me of the first woman I ever fell in love with. I imagine that gave me an extra bit of identification with Petrucchio.

  • Theatre of Blood, with Vincent Price and Diana Rigg, from 1973. A wildly lurid and somewhat silly story about an actor who, driven mad by critics' opinions of his play, become a serial killer enacting revenge upon the critics by killing them in the manner of murders in Shakepeare's plays. It was a real treat to see the young Diana Rigg again. In one scene, a man's beloved poodles are brutally murdered; I couldn't help thinking of Captain John Hart.


Then [livejournal.com profile] maaseru and I actually ventured out into the world to see The Dark Knight at a movie theatre. I had many thoughts on the movie. As always, I'm fussy about movies based on comics, especially comic and characters I love, and I certainly love Batman. The movie Batman is not the comic book Batman, and I generally prefer the one in the comic - with the caveat that there is no one comic book version of the character. None of the Batman movies capture what I most love about Batman1, but I do like Christian Bale as Bruce Wayne. A few specific thoughts, and too bad I don't have time for more. )

fajrdrako: (Default)


So now there's a bat-fish to go along with Batman and Man-bat and Batmite and all those other beings. I wonder if it will turn up in Detective Comics any time soon.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 06:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios