fajrdrako: ([Torchwood])
[personal profile] fajrdrako
[livejournal.com profile] lilithilien directed me to this site, where [livejournal.com profile] heidi8 talks about the San Diego Comic Con panels on Doctor Who and Torchwood.1 Since I'd been referencing an article about the panel with Julie Gardner and Stephen Moffatt, it was great to see this - more information, more of a sense of what was really going on.

About Doctor Who:
  • Stephan Moffat said that it "would be nice" to have neil gaiman write
    a script for DW.


    Well, yes. That's a no-brainer. Since Gaiman has said he'd like to write it, and the fans want it, I'll be surprised if it doesn't happen.

  • He also recommends not dropping handcuffs on the floor on the first date.

    Did he get that advice from Jack, or was it the Face of Boe?

  • When asked if they would do a crossover with Billie's Secret Diary of
    a Call Girl, Julie said that such a show is Torchwood.


    Oh, I wish. Please: a Torchwood/Diary of a Call Girl crossover in which Jack and Belle meet. She's asked friends for professional help with threesomes in the past, hmm? Perhaps with an alien client... oh dear. Now I want to write this a fic. Someone control me.

  • I like it that they kept mentioning 'running'.

  • We're making nostalgia for the future!

    We're always making nostalgia for the future, all of us; it's what life's all about. They're just doing it the other way around, too - creating a future we can be nostalgic about.

  • Eight did happen in the current show continuity.

    Didn't Russell T Davies already say this many times? How often do they have to repeat it? Of course "Eight happened".

  • Doctor's Daughter. But it says something for his vision of Doctor Who that "babes don't die."

    I'm happy to hear it. I gather he didn't hint whether (or when) we'll see Jenny again. I'm betting we will, and soon.

  • I wish I could have seen the trailer for the Christmas special! Likely it will turn up on real television, or on YouTube. I hope.


About Torchwood:
  • John says that Torchwood isn't so much sexed up as it reflects the real world

    I like that approach - which seems right to me. And shows how artificial many TV shows are.

  • Gareth talks about Ianto: he likes the mystery about him, how you haven't seen his flat or anything about his background, and he gets to shag the leading man and that's good.

    I can see why shagging Jack is good. Very good. I don't understand why it's good to have no background and apparently nowhere to live!

  • Jack became more human, and in his love for humanity he does things like make the choice for the death of one person to save thousands. He loves how iconic he's become and how he's a hero.

    I don't agree that Jack was ever inhuman, but I also love those things about him.

  • THEY ARE VERY RIBALD. I cannot put all the jokes into a family website!!!

    How frustrating. I want to hear every word of it all. [livejournal.com profile] heidi8, this is no time for discretion!

  • People asked about Mickey and Martha coming to torchwood and Julie wouldn't say

    Does she know there was a news item yesterday about how Russell T Davies is angry because Freema Agyeman snubbed the BBC and turned down Torchwood to take a job with ITV? Now, personally, I'd take that news item with a double-dose of salt, like so many others that turn out to be fictions, but who knows? The suspense as to whether Martha will or will not be on Torchwood fans our curiosity, and it becomes big news whether she is, or isn't. (I'm hoping she will be.)

  • For season 3, there's going to be a huge story told across give episodes - pushing the torchwood team into new territory.

    "New territory" sounds ominous, though it's probably only supposed to be making us curious. Maybe it means they'll take a road trip outside of Cardiff. (Gasp!)

  • John talked about discovering Jack was the face of boe - talking as a fan, not as John the Actor - as a fan of the genre, it changed the whole dynamic with the relatoinship between Jack and the Doctor - because the doctor has been going to him for advice.

    That was my thought, and ever since then - even on screen - the dynamics between Jack and the Doctor have been different. Not in a bad way, but given that Jack is now more than twice the Doctor's age, and it's not the way it was when the youthful con man saw the centuries-old Doctor learn to dance.

  • Gareth thinks that Ianto's fancying of Jack was a bit of a surprise to himself.

    Meaning, in "Fragments"? Yes, that was the impression we were left with: that Ianto was stunned to discover that he fancied the man he had come to Cardiff to con for Lisa's sake. Good scenario. Good acting.

  • Julie said Torchwood is about hope and a team of people that would die for each other, and there is ultimate love for each other.

    Nice. This is what I like it. This is what I love about it. Of all themes in the world, this is my favourite.

  • Naoko thinks that she and Burn had a *Joannie Loves Chachee* thing going.

    I don't know what that means. Who are they?

  • S3 of TW will air after the next eps of DW.

    So what does that mean? Are they talking about the UK or the US? After Christmas? After the DW special after that? After all the 2009 DW specials? ...I guess we'll just have to wait and find out.

  • Their reactions to their first time seeing the TW Hub - John spoke about seeing it during construction, and said it was like the first time he walked into the TARDIS set - just a *sigh*

    Awww.

  • John and Naoko did a little duet from Miss Saigon and it was gorgeous!

    Wish I could have been there and heard that. But I said that already, didn't I?




1 Thanks, [livejournal.com profile] heidi8.

Date: 2008-07-25 11:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] devohoneybee.livejournal.com
Joannie and Chachi were characters from a sitcom -- and now I can't remember which one it was. LOL I'm no help.

Date: 2008-07-26 12:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Well, that's more than I knew!

Date: 2008-07-26 12:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] devohoneybee.livejournal.com
here you go: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0083433/
a "short-lived spin-off of Happy days"

Date: 2008-07-26 01:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Well! I had no idea. Learn something every day.

Date: 2008-07-26 12:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bloodredroses1.livejournal.com
The sit-com was Happy Days, which came into being because of the movie American Graffiti.

Joanie was the younger sister of the lead character. Chachi was the nephew(I think) of the lead character's best friend Fonzie.

Morgan

Date: 2008-07-26 01:37 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Happy Days

I've heard of it. I don't remember ever seeing it. Probably didn't.

which came into being because of the movie American Graffiti.

I didn't know that!

So what did Naoko mean when she said Tosh and Owen were like Joanie and Chachi?

Date: 2008-07-26 12:43 am (UTC)
ext_41681: (Default)
From: [identity profile] catslash.livejournal.com
Joanie Loves Chachi was a spin-off of Happy Days. Why I know this I couldn't even BEGIN to tell you.

To [livejournal.com profile] fajrdrako:

Now I want to write this a fic. Someone control me.

Why on earth would we do that?

Of course "Eight happened".

Dude. Srsly. That's why Nine is called, you know, NINE. Just because a character in RTD's other major show insists that "Paul McGann doesn't count" doesn't make it CANON.

Date: 2008-07-26 01:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Joanie Loves Chachi was a spin-off of Happy Days.

Well - I've heard of Happy Days. Not of Joanie and Chachi.

Why I know this I couldn't even BEGIN to tell you.

Because, of course, you are the fount of all knowledge and wisdom. You hadn't realized it?

Why on earth would we do that?

Because the alternative is to be a corruptive influence encouraging all my worst habits? Oh, right. Yes. It's something you all do so well. You may be proud.

Dude. Srsly. That's why Nine is called, you know, NINE.

Uh-huh. The arithmetic is simple. For a show full of time paradoxes and tricks of logic, this is a simple linear progression from one regeneration to the next. Rowan Atkinson doesn't count. Paul McGann does.

Just because a character in RTD's other major show insists that "Paul McGann doesn't count" doesn't make it CANON.

Ypu! Vince has great power and I love him deeply, but he isn't a BBC producer.


Date: 2008-07-26 05:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] neadods.livejournal.com
The Miss Saigon bit has hit YouTube. I love YouTube. It lets you attend conventions without travel!

San Diego Comic Con on YouTube...

Date: 2008-07-27 09:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Yes, isn't it wonderful? And it's multidimensional and time-warping: I don't have to choose which panels to attend, I can just take it all, YouTube clip by YouTube clip, and enjoy it all to my heart's content. Without the expense and hassle of travel.

Okay, okay, it would be *nice* to be there. But I don't have the feeling that I'm missing it all because I'm not.

And it's fascinating.

Doctor Who Proms Concert

Date: 2008-07-28 12:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] raissad.livejournal.com
The Doctor Who Proms Concert is available in two parts for the next seven days. There are cameos, and you’ll hear the audio for the specially written scene:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/search/radio/?q=Proms

Here’s the video for the scene:

http://blogtorwho.blogspot.com/2008/07/music-of-spheres.html

Re: Doctor Who Proms Concert

Date: 2008-07-28 12:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
How wonderful! I am a happy, happy fan.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 06:59 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios