Suddenly it's like watching a whole other show.
It looks like Buffy, it sounds like Buffy, but it's all raised to a whole new level. Not just the presence of Spike - though that's the most startling new development - but the whole orchestration of the piece, as if suddenly they figured out what they were doing. Suddenly the actors can act, the fighters can fight, the pacing works, the characterization is in place. And my big complaint that the vampires were boring and dorky is wiped away from the first moment Spike opens his mouth.
It's the best episode yet, not only just better than the rest, but phenomenally better - I checked the writers: David Greenwalt, who did "Teacher's Pet", "Angel", and "Nightmares" - okay, two out of three isn't bad. Directed by John Kretchmer, who did "The Harvest", my least favourite episode of all. But the direction this time was remarkable. Well. Don't know how to add it up, but I'll look for his name again.
1. The first thing we see of Spike is his shoes and his long coat and his dark car. My first thought: "It's Captain Jack Harkness." Then - still not knowing - "Could this be Spike?" It could be. It was. A vampire who drives a car and smokes - things we've not seen vampires do before. But we've already established (in Willow's comments on Sheila) that smoking is a sign of real badness. Assuming we didn't already know this from X-Files. Spike reeks of civilization (rather than the animalism of other vampires) but it's civilized evil, decadence, and arrogance.
I like this.
Spike's first words: "Home sweet home." Looks as if he's planning to settle down in Sunnydale.
2. The introductory scene of Buffy with Snyder and Sheila, being set up as Snyder's victim. The
most troublesome students in the school. Buffy seems so mild and sweet compared to Sheila, who doesn't care. Sheila seems like a vampire waiting to happen.
3. Willow: "I'm a rebel." Love it. And Xander's bad, bad shirt. The dialogue here is reasonably silly, but fun.
4. Spike comes to visit the Anointed One. Love the way Spike isn't impressed - "You're the
anointed guy. I read about you." Where, in the "Vampire Daily News"? "Do you know what I find
works real good with Slayers? Killing them." Clearly, he's very practical. "Yeah, I did a couple Slayers in my time. I don't like to brag. Who am I kidding? I *love* to brag!" So much characterization in just a few lines.
I like it that Giles later confirms that Spike "did a couple Slayers".
5. One of the things that makes Spike so much more impressive here than all the other vampires is that he's the only one who doesn't have the characteristic vampire lisp due to their funny teeth. Well, he has it, a little, but not too badly - it doesn't make him sound silly. (Why do I think of Lord Grey?)
6. Then Drusilla walks in. I love Drusilla. I didn't expect that. She and Spike have so much
personality. They are strange and sensuous and scary and fascinating because of the implication
that they have thoughts and feelings and lives - they aren't just blank slates for Buffy to kill. They are both vampires and people. It particularly gets me when Drusilla says, "Spike, I'm cold," and he gives her his coat. Simple, but raises them both to such a level - making all the vampires we've seen to this point look irrelevant.
5. Drusilla: "I can't see her, the slayer, I can't see her." Very scary. All her vampire-naivete - "Are these nice people?" Brilliant. I love it that she and Spike look as if they're going to kiss, but don't.
6. Wonderful scene change:
7. Good mother/daughter conversation:
8. Joyce: "What I don't want is to be disappointed in you again." Oh, yeah, really, put on the
pressure, why don't you. Poor Buffy!
9. Good Xander line: And while I'm whittling, I plan to whistle a jaunty tune.
10. Sheila: Did you really burn down a school building one time?
Buffy: Well, not actually one time.
This exchange makes me think of "Kenny blew up the school" from the Doctor Who episode "School Reunion", with, no coincidence, Anthony Stuart Head. Small TV world.
11. Great Willow line: "You're just not focused. It's Angel missage." I love the way Willow
encourages the Buffy/Angel relationship. Some friends might not.
12. I like it that Xander dances with both Buffy and Willow.
13. Good Buffiness outside the Bronze:
14. Nice meeting of Buffy and Spike:
15. Sheila remains a vampire waiting to happen. Right. Here they come. Good dialogue between her and Spike:
16. Angel's character reference re Spike: "He's worse. Once he starts something he doesn't stop
until everything in his path is dead." I like this. Three's a reference to Anne Rice later on - I can't help thinking that Spike is like Lestat and Angel is like Louis, whom I always found a dead bore - I like Angel much better). Only Spike has more style, more bite.
17. Love Drusilla with her dolls: "She's a bad example, and will have no cakes today." Eee!
18. More scary dialogue:
19. Clever bit of dialogue:
20. I didn't much like the stuff about Joyce and Buffy and Snyder here. It was a little... too
obvious or something. Joyce must think Buffy is a dolt, taking her to empty rooms and the boiler
room.
21. Giles looks up Spike. "Our new friend Spike. He's known as 'William the Bloody'. Earned his
nickname by torturing his victims with railroad spikes. Very pleasant. Well, here's some good
news: he's barely two hundred. He's not even as old as Angel is." This is a little confusing - I
thought they'd been emphasizing how very, very, very old Angel was at 241. But 200 is a
youngster. Well. Okay. Who am I to quibble.
And then on cue, Spike turns up. He says he couldn't wait. I don't think he was hungry. I think
he was bored.
22. Snyder: "PCP! It's a gang on PCP!" This is very funny.
23. Spike: "Slaaayer! Here, kitty, kittyyy. I find one of your friends first, I'm gonna suck 'em dry. And use their bones to bash your head in." Egad, he's *wonderful*. Every other vampire we've seen so far looks like an amateur in comparison.
24. Buffy: Giles, my mother's in that room. If I don't make it out of here, I know you'll make sure she does.
Giles: Bloody right, I will.I'm a little surprised he capitulates so easily. But... he usually does, with Buffy. Still. From his point of view, surely it's Buffy that's important, not Joyce - regardless of who or what is important to Buffy.
25. Joyce: Don't be an idiot!
Snyder: I'm beginning to see a certain mother-daughter resemblance.
26. Vampire Sheila comes along. Buffy's wise to her - Giles warns her. Good!
27. The meeting between Spike and Angel: it's wonderful. Vampire reunion!
And Spike's wonderful line: "You're not... housebroken?"
28. And just when I thought nothing could make me love Spike more:
29. And Spike seems to have Buffy pegged already: "You don't strike me as the begging kind." I
hope not.
30. Joyce at the attack! Yay! Go, Joyce! Like daughter, like mother. I never expected that. I love it.
31. Good dialogue between Angel and Xander:
32. Love the PCP dialogue between Snyder and the police chief.
33. Lovely dialogue between Joyce and Buffy:
34. Lovely scene: Drusilla is comforting the wounded (in spirit) Spike. He says, "A Slayer with
family and friends. That sure as hell wasn't in the brochure." And I'm thinking: a vampire with
family and friends. That's a new one. Nice reciprocal ironies there.
35. More lovely dialogue:
35. And Spike calls twerp there "the annoying one". Oh yes! If I didn't love Spike already... and then he goes to 'make nice' but making nice isn't Spike's best thing. So he laughs at Anointed and string him up in the cage and exposes him to sunlight. There he goes, up in a puff of smoke, and I'm telling you, if I didn't love Spike already - !
36. Spike:From now on, we're gonna have a little less ritual... ...and a little more fun around here.... Let's see what's on TV.
So nicely self-referential: the show is already more fun, infinitely more fun. It's suddenly shifted into gear.
37. I think this rates 10 out of 10 - okay, maybe nine and half because of the school scene with Buffy's being an idiot with her mom and the sour lemonade. Also, the problem I had with some of the female characters a decade ago started to show itself here - something I'll probably refer to later on.
But Spike is pure gold all the way. And he's all the better with Drusilla.
It looks like Buffy, it sounds like Buffy, but it's all raised to a whole new level. Not just the presence of Spike - though that's the most startling new development - but the whole orchestration of the piece, as if suddenly they figured out what they were doing. Suddenly the actors can act, the fighters can fight, the pacing works, the characterization is in place. And my big complaint that the vampires were boring and dorky is wiped away from the first moment Spike opens his mouth.
It's the best episode yet, not only just better than the rest, but phenomenally better - I checked the writers: David Greenwalt, who did "Teacher's Pet", "Angel", and "Nightmares" - okay, two out of three isn't bad. Directed by John Kretchmer, who did "The Harvest", my least favourite episode of all. But the direction this time was remarkable. Well. Don't know how to add it up, but I'll look for his name again.
1. The first thing we see of Spike is his shoes and his long coat and his dark car. My first thought: "It's Captain Jack Harkness." Then - still not knowing - "Could this be Spike?" It could be. It was. A vampire who drives a car and smokes - things we've not seen vampires do before. But we've already established (in Willow's comments on Sheila) that smoking is a sign of real badness. Assuming we didn't already know this from X-Files. Spike reeks of civilization (rather than the animalism of other vampires) but it's civilized evil, decadence, and arrogance.
I like this.
Spike's first words: "Home sweet home." Looks as if he's planning to settle down in Sunnydale.
2. The introductory scene of Buffy with Snyder and Sheila, being set up as Snyder's victim. The
most troublesome students in the school. Buffy seems so mild and sweet compared to Sheila, who doesn't care. Sheila seems like a vampire waiting to happen.
3. Willow: "I'm a rebel." Love it. And Xander's bad, bad shirt. The dialogue here is reasonably silly, but fun.
4. Spike comes to visit the Anointed One. Love the way Spike isn't impressed - "You're the
anointed guy. I read about you." Where, in the "Vampire Daily News"? "Do you know what I find
works real good with Slayers? Killing them." Clearly, he's very practical. "Yeah, I did a couple Slayers in my time. I don't like to brag. Who am I kidding? I *love* to brag!" So much characterization in just a few lines.
I like it that Giles later confirms that Spike "did a couple Slayers".
5. One of the things that makes Spike so much more impressive here than all the other vampires is that he's the only one who doesn't have the characteristic vampire lisp due to their funny teeth. Well, he has it, a little, but not too badly - it doesn't make him sound silly. (Why do I think of Lord Grey?)
6. Then Drusilla walks in. I love Drusilla. I didn't expect that. She and Spike have so much
personality. They are strange and sensuous and scary and fascinating because of the implication
that they have thoughts and feelings and lives - they aren't just blank slates for Buffy to kill. They are both vampires and people. It particularly gets me when Drusilla says, "Spike, I'm cold," and he gives her his coat. Simple, but raises them both to such a level - making all the vampires we've seen to this point look irrelevant.
5. Drusilla: "I can't see her, the slayer, I can't see her." Very scary. All her vampire-naivete - "Are these nice people?" Brilliant. I love it that she and Spike look as if they're going to kiss, but don't.
6. Wonderful scene change:
Spike: [referring to Buffy] Is she tough?
Buffy: [referring to her hairbrush] Ow!
7. Good mother/daughter conversation:
Buffy: What can you really tell about a person from a test score?
Joyce: Whether or not she's ever going out with her friends again.
8. Joyce: "What I don't want is to be disappointed in you again." Oh, yeah, really, put on the
pressure, why don't you. Poor Buffy!
9. Good Xander line: And while I'm whittling, I plan to whistle a jaunty tune.
10. Sheila: Did you really burn down a school building one time?
Buffy: Well, not actually one time.
This exchange makes me think of "Kenny blew up the school" from the Doctor Who episode "School Reunion", with, no coincidence, Anthony Stuart Head. Small TV world.
11. Great Willow line: "You're just not focused. It's Angel missage." I love the way Willow
encourages the Buffy/Angel relationship. Some friends might not.
12. I like it that Xander dances with both Buffy and Willow.
13. Good Buffiness outside the Bronze:
Vampire: Slayer!
Buffy: Slayee!
14. Nice meeting of Buffy and Spike:
Spike: Nice work, love.And then he says he'll kill her.
Buffy: Who are you?
Spike: You'll find out on Saturday.
15. Sheila remains a vampire waiting to happen. Right. Here they come. Good dialogue between her and Spike:
Sheila: Who are you?
Spike: Who do you want me to be?
Sheila: Did you see...
Spike: ...those two losers who thought they were good enough for you? ...You got something a whole lot better.
16. Angel's character reference re Spike: "He's worse. Once he starts something he doesn't stop
until everything in his path is dead." I like this. Three's a reference to Anne Rice later on - I can't help thinking that Spike is like Lestat and Angel is like Louis, whom I always found a dead bore - I like Angel much better). Only Spike has more style, more bite.
17. Love Drusilla with her dolls: "She's a bad example, and will have no cakes today." Eee!
18. More scary dialogue:
Drusilla: The stars will align, and smile down on us.Then we see Sheila, and understand why Spike was urging Drusilla to eat. Wonderful moment.
Spike: And then, God, this town will burn.
19. Clever bit of dialogue:
Giles: For three nights the unholy ones scourge themselves into a fury, culminating in a savage attack on the night of St. Vigeous.But everyone's dialogue sounds tame after Spike and Drusilla.
Xander: Does anybody remember when Saturday night meant date night?
Cordelia: You sure don't.
20. I didn't much like the stuff about Joyce and Buffy and Snyder here. It was a little... too
obvious or something. Joyce must think Buffy is a dolt, taking her to empty rooms and the boiler
room.
21. Giles looks up Spike. "Our new friend Spike. He's known as 'William the Bloody'. Earned his
nickname by torturing his victims with railroad spikes. Very pleasant. Well, here's some good
news: he's barely two hundred. He's not even as old as Angel is." This is a little confusing - I
thought they'd been emphasizing how very, very, very old Angel was at 241. But 200 is a
youngster. Well. Okay. Who am I to quibble.
And then on cue, Spike turns up. He says he couldn't wait. I don't think he was hungry. I think
he was bored.
22. Snyder: "PCP! It's a gang on PCP!" This is very funny.
23. Spike: "Slaaayer! Here, kitty, kittyyy. I find one of your friends first, I'm gonna suck 'em dry. And use their bones to bash your head in." Egad, he's *wonderful*. Every other vampire we've seen so far looks like an amateur in comparison.
24. Buffy: Giles, my mother's in that room. If I don't make it out of here, I know you'll make sure she does.
Giles: Bloody right, I will.I'm a little surprised he capitulates so easily. But... he usually does, with Buffy. Still. From his point of view, surely it's Buffy that's important, not Joyce - regardless of who or what is important to Buffy.
25. Joyce: Don't be an idiot!
Snyder: I'm beginning to see a certain mother-daughter resemblance.
26. Vampire Sheila comes along. Buffy's wise to her - Giles warns her. Good!
27. The meeting between Spike and Angel: it's wonderful. Vampire reunion!
Angel: I taught you to always guard your perimeter. Tsk, tsk, tsk. You should have someone outI love all of this - the implications of both mutual respect and mistrust between Angel and Spike. Of course Spike isn't gullible and isn't gulled. I love it that poor Xander is just hanging under Angel's arm through all this. And I like Xander's line: "Undead liar guy."
there.
Spike: I did. I'm surrounded by idiots. What's new with you?
Angel: Everything.
Spike: Yeah. Come up against this Slayer yet?
Angel: She's cute. Not too bright, though. Gave the puppy dog 'I'm all tortured' act. Keeps her off my back when I feed!
And Spike's wonderful line: "You're not... housebroken?"
28. And just when I thought nothing could make me love Spike more:
Buffy: Do we really need weapons for this?
Spike: I just like them. They make me feel all manly.
29. And Spike seems to have Buffy pegged already: "You don't strike me as the begging kind." I
hope not.
30. Joyce at the attack! Yay! Go, Joyce! Like daughter, like mother. I never expected that. I love it.
31. Good dialogue between Angel and Xander:
Xander: So, when you gave him my neck to chew on, why didn't you clock him before he had a chance to clock you?You think? Couldn't Spike have just drunk his fill, and then turned on Angel? I'm not sure why he didn't. (Back to my earlier theory: he wasn't hungry. This, for him, is all sport.)
Angel: I told you. I couldn't make the first move. I had to see if he was buying it or not.
Xander: A-and if he bit me, what then?
Angel: We would've known he bought it.
32. Love the PCP dialogue between Snyder and the police chief.
33. Lovely dialogue between Joyce and Buffy:
Joyce: Principal Snyder said you were a troublemaker. And I could care less.And Buffy's rather astute question:
Buffy: About how long till this wears off and you start ragging on me again?
Joyce: Oh, at least a week and a half.
34. Lovely scene: Drusilla is comforting the wounded (in spirit) Spike. He says, "A Slayer with
family and friends. That sure as hell wasn't in the brochure." And I'm thinking: a vampire with
family and friends. That's a new one. Nice reciprocal ironies there.
35. More lovely dialogue:
Drusilla: You'll kill her, and then we'll have a nice celebration.I love the way Drusilla combines the eerie, the macabre and the mundane.
Spike: Yeah, a party.
Drusilla: Yeah. With streamers... and songs.
35. And Spike calls twerp there "the annoying one". Oh yes! If I didn't love Spike already... and then he goes to 'make nice' but making nice isn't Spike's best thing. So he laughs at Anointed and string him up in the cage and exposes him to sunlight. There he goes, up in a puff of smoke, and I'm telling you, if I didn't love Spike already - !
36. Spike:From now on, we're gonna have a little less ritual... ...and a little more fun around here.... Let's see what's on TV.
So nicely self-referential: the show is already more fun, infinitely more fun. It's suddenly shifted into gear.
37. I think this rates 10 out of 10 - okay, maybe nine and half because of the school scene with Buffy's being an idiot with her mom and the sour lemonade. Also, the problem I had with some of the female characters a decade ago started to show itself here - something I'll probably refer to later on.
But Spike is pure gold all the way. And he's all the better with Drusilla.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 02:12 am (UTC)(I'm using a spoiler free icon, just for you!)
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 02:33 am (UTC)So glad you enjoyed. Do you agree with my comments? Or am I way off base on stuff?
(I'm using a spoiler free icon, just for you!)
Aww - very kind! thank you.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 02:48 am (UTC)And now you know why Spike was the runaway favorite character. He had class, and the relationship with Druscilla was absolutely fabulous.
Although for macabre and mundane, wait until you meet the mayor!
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 12:31 pm (UTC)I expected him to be good, but he's way beyond 'good'. And the relationship with Drusilla was unexpected and just blew me away.
wait until you meet the mayor!
The mayor...? Of Sunnydale?
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 02:57 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 12:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:06 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:19 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:12 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:19 am (UTC)Well, why don't you?
The more the merrier!
Glad you're enjoying this.
And... nice icon you have there.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:42 am (UTC)The story is that JM wanted this job really bad, and so he didn't wear underwear. :) If you look REAL close, purely for research purposes, you can tell.
Oh, note that he knocks down the Welcome to Sunnydale sign. That will have added significance later.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 12:34 pm (UTC)Thank goodness he wasn't. And just for the record -I want Captain John back, too!
The story is that JM wanted this job really bad, and so he didn't wear underwear. :) If you look REAL close, purely for research purposes, you can tell.
Ah, now, that's dedication. A vampire doesn't need underwear anyway.
Oh, note that he knocks down the Welcome to Sunnydale sign. That will have added significance later.
I missed that! Thanks for the tip.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 04:18 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 12:35 pm (UTC)They are, they really are. They are wonderful.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 04:31 am (UTC)*...is reading this.*
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 04:44 am (UTC)Small TV world.
Also love injokes and references. Many things I love. You know what else I love? Going around saying "I told you so". Well, not really. But I love when the Jossness falls on your head and you realise things. Like how good this can be.
I don't think he was hungry. I think he was bored.
I don't think it's a spoiler at this point to say "I think he suffers from mild ADHD".
"It's a gang on PCP!"
You haven't heard us excuse almost anything with this line? It's very useful IRL.
Spike: I just like them. They make me feel all manly.
The word "manly". Very much well-used in this show. Puts things in perspective - on how meaningless it really is.
We thought you'd appreciate Spike for the Annoying One's end if nothing else. He was such a pain to you.
And thus I conclude. I will not rave about Spike. I will not rave about the show. I will sit back and let you go on.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 04:44 am (UTC)It's fun to see someone else enter that world.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 12:27 pm (UTC)Yeah, me too.
Not that I was resistent. I already loved Captain John Hart.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 07:41 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 12:27 pm (UTC)I want more!
I need a raise!!
And in a very good cause, too.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 08:23 am (UTC)b. Like someone already pointed out, Spike and Dru were meant to be one-ep vamps. You can find interviews where James describes the auditioning process and how he and Juliet Landau (who just met in the queue) decided to improv together to get the gig. Joss evidently realized he hit a jackpot there and kept them.
c. Remember how pissy I was several weeks ago when the French started airing Buffy again and I noticed their crap dubbing was butchering characterisation?
Now you've seen it, you'll get my indignation better (http://pagesperso-orange.fr/buffysspirit/buffy/transcripts/s2/03.htm).
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 08:24 am (UTC)(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 08:41 am (UTC)Yes. Told you that you'd recognise moments from KKBB. Not accidental at all.
I like it that Giles later confirms that Spike "did a couple Slayers".
We learn a lot more about that, but not for several seasons.
Iconic moment. They devised it in JM's audition - probably helped clinch the part for him. It's wonderfully unsettling.
This exchange makes me think of "Kenny blew up the school" from the Doctor Who episode "School Reunion", with, no coincidence, Anthony Stuart Head. Small TV world.
RTD is a Joss fanboy. DW and TW are both littered with Jossverse references.
nickname by torturing his victims with railroad spikes. Very pleasant. Well, here's some good news: he's barely two hundred. He's not even as old as Angel is." This is a little confusing - I thought they'd been emphasizing how very, very, very old Angel was at 241. But 200 is a
youngster. Well. Okay. Who am I to quibble.
The dates and ages of both tend to be retconned a great deal. Spike is actually well under 200, even taking his pre-turning life into account. He was born in about 1852/3. And will never quite grow up in some ways.
She's attacked Snyder verbally; now she attacks Spike physically. With an axe. All sorts of wonderful echoes of this moment to enjoy later. Preferably with a mug of hot chocolate and those little marshmallows.
And if you hadn't felt that we really would have had to kill you. It's one of my top ten episodes. Except there are about twenty in my top ten...
There is something about pale-haired men with piercing blue eyes, iconoclastic attitudes and a wonderful line in snark, isn't there? But Drusilla doesn't quite get to be stuffed with straw in a summer-house.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 01:58 pm (UTC)I love every correspondence I've noticed between the two shows. Such fun.
Iconic moment. They devised it in JM's audition - probably helped clinch the part for him. It's wonderfully unsettling.
They are so clever. It's just the right balance of warm-but-creepy.
RTD is a Joss fanboy. DW and TW are both littered with Jossverse references.
Yes. I love it. I don't just love it that RTD is a fanboy and steals references: I love it that he's a clever fanboy for knows just the right tone to take, and just the right point where too much would be too much (well, usually), and the way he takes what enhances his shows but not what would detract. It isn't just that he takes from Joss, but that he and Joss have the same pop culture references - comic books certainly, but also music and movies and all sorts of things I wouldn't recognize.
Spike is actually well under 200, even taking his pre-turning life into account. He was born in about 1852/3.
What, really? You mean Giles was wrong? I am disillusioned. And sort of happy about it.
It's one of my top ten episodes.
You mean that I have nine more episodes to go that are this good? Hot damn! I can hardly wait!
Except there are about twenty in my top ten...
Or nineteen. Happy smile.
There is something about pale-haired men with piercing blue eyes, iconoclastic attitudes and a wonderful line in snark, isn't there?
Well... certainly two of my favourites share these characteristics. Not my usual "type", I like them dark and with large noses... But Lymond and Spike, for all they have in common, are both outrageous, extraordinary and unique, and that's the best thing of all.
But Drusilla doesn't quite get to be stuffed with straw in a summer-house.
She does have Oonagh's colouring: pale skin, large eyes, dark hair....
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 10:19 am (UTC)the implications of both mutual respect and mistrust between Angel and Spike.
One of the most complex and interesting relationships in the entire Jossverse, but I can't say any more on that subject.
Joyce at the attack! Yay! Go, Joyce! Like daughter, like mother. I never expected that. I love it.
One of my favourite Joyce moments and always to be remembered when she's having to appear a little dense for story-telling purposes.
I love the way Drusilla combines the eerie, the macabre and the mundane.
Drusilla is the scariest and most tragic vamp in the entire story in my opinion.
It's suddenly shifted into gear.
Yup. There are a few more less than stellar episodes to come but the good ones will be coming thick and fast soon.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 02:05 pm (UTC)I look forward to more. My (vague) memory of Spike from a few episodes of Angel is that he was disappointing there - but we shall see. After all, I hadn't seen what led up to it.
One of the most complex and interesting relationships in the entire Jossverse, but I can't say any more on that subject
Hrm. Okay. Though I'm not really such a fan of Angel, he does seem to have interesting relationships.
One of my favourite Joyce moments and always to be remembered when she's having to appear a little dense for story-telling purposes.
yes. I will tell myself that.
Drusilla is the scariest and most tragic vamp in the entire story in my opinion.
Judging just from what I've seen to date - yes. Though there isn't much to compare with. The zombie-vampies don't count. We never got Absalom's story. The Master was a comic figure.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 11:57 am (UTC)Yet I love Spike and Angel is ok, but I love Spike. Hmm.
Farinelli...
Date: 2008-03-13 01:44 pm (UTC)Hee - I was the opposite. One of my pet peeves in vampire lore is the 'vampire who won't take blood, or feels guilty about it' in the style of Nick Knight or - well, name any vampire who does that, TV is full of them. And Louis is one of them. I find it annoying: If you're not going to be into doing what a vampire does, why, in literary terms, bother being a vampire at all?
It's a wonder that I can tolerate Angel in the least, and the only reason I can is the intense romantic angle with Buffy. And good dialogue.
I like Anne Rice's historical fiction better than her fantasy anyway: I find her books increasingly unreadable and less well written as she goes. But I thought "Feast of All Saints" and "Cry to Heaven" were terrific - especially the latter.
Which reminds me. Have you seen the movie "Farinelli"? I can't recall whether we've talked about it, but discussing "Moliere" and "Le Roi Danse" made me think of it.
Perhaps I should explain the train of thought. I'm thinking of books and movies about the 17th and early 18th centuries. The movie "Farinelli" is about a real-life castrato, and of course it features a lot of music - particularly Handel, who wrote for Farinelli when he was in England. "Cry to Heaven" is about a Farinelli-like castrato.
Re: Farinelli...
From:Re: Farinelli...
From:Re: Farinelli...
From:Re: Farinelli...
From:Re: Farinelli...
From:Re: Farinelli...
From:Re: Farinelli...
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:35 pm (UTC)my big complaint that the vampires were boring and dorky is wiped away from the first moment Spike opens his mouth
Didn't I tell you there were better ones coming up?
"You're the anointed guy. I read about you." Where, in the "Vampire Daily News"?
Probably the same place as Giles and the Master did - ye olde books of lore. The Anointed One must have quite a reputation in vamp-land after all, or why would any of the vampires bother doing what he said after the Master died at all? But Spike isn't impressed - he isn't the traditional rule-following vampire.
"Yeah, I did a couple Slayers in my time. I don't like to brag. Who am I kidding? I *love* to brag!"
And yet the second Drusilla walks in the room, everyone else might as well cease to exist and the bragging is forgotten. It's all about Dru. I love how the Annoying One obviously has no idea what to make of her either.
One of the things that makes Spike so much more impressive here than all the other vampires is that he's the only one who doesn't have the characteristic vampire lisp due to their funny teeth
That gets mentioned a lot by the actors who had to play vamps. I think it takes practice to work past the teeth. You'll notice with the recurring vampire cast that their make-up gets a little more subtle when they are vamped out as well because they need as much flexibility as possible to act.
I love Drusilla. I didn't expect that. She and Spike have so much
personality. They are strange and sensuous and scary and fascinating
Fantastic, aren't they? I know we've all been all about Spike, but Drusilla is a marvellous character as well and they play off each other beautifully - especially their interestingly off-kilter body-language with each other. Ooh, and the bit where Drusilla cuts him and licks the blood? Once again, BtVS sneaks in the kink.
I saw some people mentioning they were meant to be one episode villains - I'm not sure about that, I think they were meant to be around for a couple, but they were definitely designed to be cool, outrageous and disposable, only the writers liked writing them so much they changed their minds about disposing of them.
I like it that Xander dances with both Buffy and Willow
I like Spike doing that predatory stalk around watching Buffy while the sound drops out. Nice.
Love Drusilla with her dolls: "She's a bad example, and will have no cakes today." Eee!
Oh, Dru's dolls! Dolls like that are creepy anyway, but the little gags they all have just make them even more so. I seem to remember that came from the set dressers.
This is a little confusing - I thought they'd been emphasizing how very, very, very old Angel was at 241. But 200 is a youngster. Well. Okay. Who am I to quibble
I think Angel is emphasised as old because of how much older than Buffy he is. But for scary, powerful vampires, I don't think either he or Spike is really that old. And like someone else pointed out, Spike's origins get retconned a bit later anyway.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 04:32 pm (UTC)And it's beautiful. I pause to admire it.
Didn't I tell you there were better ones coming up?
You were right.
The Anointed One must have quite a reputation in vamp-land after all, or why would any of the vampires bother doing what he said after the Master died at all?
I'm not sure why at all. I find it hard to believe that that crowd of appetite-driven cretins read anything, let alone ancient tomes.
But Spike isn't impressed - he isn't the traditional rule-following vampire.
So wonder I love him.
And yet the second Drusilla walks in the room, everyone else might as well cease to exist and the bragging is forgotten. It's all about Dru.
Such a wonderful scene.
notice with the recurring vampire cast that their make-up gets a little more subtle when they are vamped out as well because they need as much flexibility as possible to act.
I hate the make-up and I wish they didn't use it. I really have trouble not seeing it as ludicrous, even on Spike. It hampers the actors and it looks dumb. So why bother? It's the sort of thing that kept me from watching the show for a decade. (And which still makes me roll my eyes.)
especially their interestingly off-kilter body-language with each other.
It's brilliant. Sexy and scary at the same time. It's perplexing because it's off-kilter and wrong-seeming, but it gives all the important messages: that Drusilla trusts Spike, that Spike is worried about her welfare, nd that they are lovers.
Once again, BtVS sneaks in the kink.
I like that, and it seemed so realistic.
the writers liked writing them so much they changed their minds about disposing of them.
I'm glad. That shows good judgement.
Spike's origins get retconned a bit later anyway.
Right. I like the idea that Giles' sources got it wrong.
(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:(no subject)
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 03:36 pm (UTC)he was bored.
This is one of the things I've been thinking about. There is some justification for taking what Spike says about being bored at face value - he is into action rather than waiting usually. But I think there is more to it, especially when you take into account what Angel says and Xander's summary of "thorough, goal-oriented". What is Spike's goal in Sunnydale? To keep Dru safe and get her well. He isn't interested in joining in the St Vigeous rituals, doesn't care about the Annointed One or following him and the bargain he makes with him is to keep his flunkies from trying anything - because that might endanger Dru. And the first action Spike takes is to get the AO's strongest supporter killed by Buffy. Then he takes the rest of the supporters and attacks 2 days early, partly I think because Buffy isn't expecting the attack until Saturday, but mainly I think it is about undercutting the AO's power. Spike doesn't want to wait until St Vigeous because that is when the vampires are all pumped up about tradition and the AO's power will be strongest - but if he kills the Slayer before then, he can get the supporters on his side first.
And by the end of the episode, Buffy may not be dead, but the Annoying One is and Spike is firmly in charge.
"Me and Dru? We're moving in."
From his point of view, surely it's Buffy that's important, not Joyce
Well, no. On a personal level Buffy is important - but on the level that Giles is a Watcher and Buffy is the Slayer, it's about keeping other people safe not Buffy. And Giles knows Angel will be coming for backup too.
And just when I thought nothing could make me love Spike more:
Buffy: Do we really need weapons for this?
Spike: I just like them. They make me feel all manly.
Did you notice that he puts his weapon down first as well? I always thought that was interesting, because he is trusting Buffy to do the same.
And it took me so long to connect the "Fee-fi-fo-fum" line with noticing the tampon in the bag earlier - blink and miss the implications.
Joyce at the attack! Yay! Go, Joyce! Like daughter, like mother
Joyce occasionally totally rocks.
Angel: I told you. I couldn't make the first move. I had to see if he was buying it or not.
Xander: A-and if he bit me, what then?
Angel: We would've known he bought it.
Personally, I've always thought Angel's plan sucked (pun intended). I can't make any sense of where he thought he was going with it - though he gets points for removing 3 vampires so Buffy and Spike are one-on-one.
There he goes, up in a puff of smoke, and I'm telling you, if I didn't love Spike already - !
Marvellous, isn't it? I always like how Spike and Dru lift their arms to separate round the unconscious vamp as well.
the problem I had with some of the female characters a decade ago started to show itself here - something I'll probably refer to later on
Now I'm curious.
But Spike is pure gold all the way. And he's all the better with Drusilla.
Yes. Absolutely.
School Hard
Date: 2008-03-13 04:16 pm (UTC)I had wondered - given what we see - whether Spike was deliberately keeping Buffy alive for some reason. But I couldn't think of a reason.
attacks 2 days early, partly I think because Buffy isn't expecting the attack until Saturday, but mainly I think it is about undercutting the AO's power.
Two birds with one stone. I like that.
On a personal level Buffy is important - but on the level that Giles is a Watcher and Buffy is the Slayer, it's about keeping other people safe not Buffy.
Really? That surprises me. I thought the Watcher was all about taking care of the Slayer - why would other people matter? No, don't answer that, I suspect it's spoiler territory! I will learn as time goes on.
Giles knows Angel will be coming for backup too.
Does Giles really trust Angel? That seems unwise.
Did you notice that he puts his weapon down first as well? I always thought that was interesting, because he is trusting Buffy to do the same.
I noticed, and I loved it, but I interpreted it differently. I thought he jsut didn't really give a damn whether Buffy used her weapon or not, he was arrogant and thought he could take her anyway.
- blink and miss the implications.
I missed it first time round, for sure!
I've always thought Angel's plan sucked (pun intended). I can't make any sense of where he thought he was going with it - though he gets points for removing 3 vampires so Buffy and Spike are one-on-one.
Yes. My interpretation - which doesn't convince me in the slightest, but which amuses me - is that he's having a bit of fun at Xander's expense, and getting back at him for the anti-Angel remarks he's been making to Buffy - revenge for Xander's general policy of undercutting the Angel/Buffy relationship at every opportunity.
This charms me but it doesn't convince me because nothing we've seen indicates that Angel is that smart, that wiley or that mischiveous. I'd like him better if he was. But I don't see it.
Re my problem with the women in Buffy:
Now I'm curious.
The problem I was thinking of here is that I have trouble telling them apart. They all look alike to me, with the exception of Willow. I thought this problem would go away when I got to know each character and they weren't just names to me, but this doesn't seem to be the case: there were scenes where I had to puzzle out from context whether I was looking at Cordelia or Jenny. I didn't have that problem with Buffy in this episode because there weren't a lot of blondes, but when there are, I find that they look like Buffy, too. All the women cast seem to me to be a certain type, visually, and I find it difficult to distinguish them. This hasn't happened to me on other TV shows.
I had another problem with the women on Buffy in the past, but that hasn't come up yet again, so we'll see if it bothers me as we continue.
I don't really understand the title of the episode.
Re: School Hard
From:Re: School Hard
From:no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 05:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 05:31 pm (UTC)I'm glad to hear it! That explains why the vampires up to this point were so mindless.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 07:46 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-13 07:52 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-15 12:51 am (UTC)Even Xander, love of my life had his moments...
God I cannot WAIT for you to get later in the series. There are some really awesome episodes, for each of those characters. I can say each one had an episode a peice that made me cry...literally cry.
And spike is more then gold, he's diamonds. :)
no subject
Date: 2008-03-15 10:10 pm (UTC)If only I had a dime for each friend who has said that!
And spike is more then gold, he's diamonds. :)
I will study this matter carefully and get back to you on it. [g]
no subject
Date: 2008-03-20 05:18 am (UTC)Buffy: Do we really need weapons for this?
Spike: I just like them. They make me feel all manly.
I did so know you would love that!!!
30. Joyce at the attack! Yay! Go, Joyce! Like daughter, like mother. I never expected that. I love it.
And, didn't I tell you this would come about? Oh, yes, I did indeed. More to come! Joyce becomes magnificent.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-20 12:42 pm (UTC)Predictable, that's me. So, so predictable...!
More to come! Joyce becomes magnificent.
I'm thrilled to hear it. She's great.