fajrdrako: ([Heroes] - Peter)
[personal profile] fajrdrako


Watched Heroes "Four Months Ago" last night. If I don't comment, I'll forget my thoughts....

Usually I dislike stories on TV or in comics that jump around in time, or work chronologially backwards. I don't mean time travel. I mean stories that start with "two days ago" and then go to "three days ago" and then go to "ten hours ago". It might have been a good idea when it started, but its use once or twice was enough. Now I cringe.

But Heroes pulls this sort of thing off with aplomb. Five years in the future? Gripping. Next April? Fascinating. Four months ago? Illuminating.

I enjoyed this episode.

You maybe guessed that before I said a word. After all, it was heavily Petrelli-centred, and I love the Petrellis.
  1. What is the dark secret of the Petrelli family? I have no doubt there is one, but it's not what Angela was telling Heidi. I love the way she didn't stop touching Heidi as she was telling her. I love the way the camera emphasized that. Just in case there were viewers who hadn't figured out Angela yet?


  2. No Hiro. It's a reflection of how dull the Hiro story has been this season that I didn't miss him, though I hope for better to come. And I was glad not to see Claire. Which is really too bad, considering how much I enjoyed her last season.


  3. I did, however, miss Mr. Bennet. But that's okay, I got Petrellis instead.


  4. Is Bob Elle's father? Are there any other characters who could be Elle's father?


  5. Elle is actually a great disappointment: a shallow blonde psychopath. Yawn. I'd like to convince myself that there is room for improvement here, but I'm not even sure there is. It's painful because Kristen Bell's performance of Veronica Mars gave us something wonderful and only too rare - a strong, brave, intelligent, realistic and loveable young woman. Elle is a waste of talent, if not time.

    Can't fault her taste, though, going after Peter. I guess he's used to people who can't (or won't) stop touching him.


  6. Even in conjunction with Peter, Adam is still boring, but unlike Elle, he has potential.


  7. Maya and Alejandro... We got a little more background, and they still aren't interesting and Maya is still running and crying. I see no ray of hope for that storyline. I'm beginning to hope Sylar eats her brains and that's and end to it. If he eats Alejandro's brains, too (insofar as Alejandro has any), he'll probably just neutralize the power and that will be that.


  8. So now we know how DL died. Huh. And Niki has a third personality. Sadly, all three personalities don't add up to anyone very interesting. Micah is the best of the whole family. And I still love Nana, brief though her appearance was. How does Nichelle Nicholas manage to be so enchanting without even a storyline to call her own?


  9. The climactic highlight of the whole episode: the interaction between the Haitian and Peter. I love the Haitian. Every scene he is in. And I love the way we can never really tell which side he's on, or what his real allegiance is.


  10. Aaah, Nathan. I love it that Peter visited him in the hospital. I love knowing why Heidi left him, and doesn't want the kids to be with him. I loved seeing the scene of their nuclear explosion in the sky, and the explanation of why Peter couldn't fly by himself.


  11. I always love it, absolutely love it, when Peter turns invisible.


Date: 2007-11-14 07:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] raissad.livejournal.com
I agree with all your comments. I'm ready for Niki to die, so Micah can go live with Nana permanently. Is that the best end they could come up with for DL? Kirby Plaza bullet, fire, or dumb ass punk? And they go with dumb ass punk. I know it's supposed to be tragic that DL dies because of Niki/Jessica/Gina/Whoever, inderectly, but instead it comes off as monumentally lame and annoying. I will say this. Storylines aside, I thought all the performances in the ep. rocked. These actors may not have what we wished they had to work with, but they all commit completely to what they're doing. That alone has saved S2 for me.

Date: 2007-11-14 07:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
You're right, the acting was particularly good this episode. Though I never know exactly what to make of Adam - he has that "what am I doing here, and why?" look that makes me unsure how to interpret him. It worked best when he was drunk.

As for the death of DL - I'm just as glad to see him gone, but you're right, he deserved a more interesting end. Something with some meaning to it.

Date: 2007-11-14 10:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] star-momma.livejournal.com
Wes insisted for awhile that Kensei would turn out to be Elle's dad... I think this episode pretty much sunk that theory. I think Bob probably really is her daddy.

C'mon, Sylar, get off your lazy psycho ass and KILL them! Jeez, man!

Date: 2007-11-15 01:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Wes insisted for awhile that Kensei would turn out to be Elle's dad... I think this episode pretty much sunk that theory.

It's a nice theory, but I don't see anything in the show to back it up.

Sylar, get off your lazy psycho ass and KILL them! Jeez, man!

Yeah. And about time, too.

Date: 2007-11-14 10:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ataniell93.livejournal.com
Maya and Alejandro are a malfunctioning Sylar delivery system, man.

Date: 2007-11-14 11:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
LOL - what a perfect description of them! I'm not sure it justifies their
existence, but it helps.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios