The Firday Five..
Sep. 14th, 2006 09:47 pmFrom
thefridayfive:
1. What's your favorite line from a movie, and why?
2. Who's your favorite villain from a movie, and why?
3. Name one movie everyone else loves that you hate.
4. Name one movie everyone else hates that you love.
5. What's your favorite Pixar film, and why?
1. What's your favorite line from a movie, and why?
From Kenneth Branagh's Much Ado About Nothing (from memory, may be innacurate):
Benedick: I tell thee I love thee - bid me do anything for thee.
Beatrice: Kill Claudio.
Benedick: Hah! Not for the wide world.
2. Who's your favorite villain from a movie, and why?
Here I, who have so many favourite villains, have trouble thinking of one. My favourite movies don't have villains, or at least, not good ones. I'd say Lex Luthor from Smallville, but that's TV, not movies. I don't like Lex Luthor in any of the movies - he's not scary, he's silly.
There are other villains in movies whom I like - Lucius Malfoy, or the guy played by Jason Isaacs in The Patriot, or any of Rufus Sewell's bad-boy roles - but it makes no sense to mention villains from movies I didn't like so much. Magneto from X-Men - ? But my love is for the Magneto of the comics, in all his wonderful facets, and for Ian McKellen, who is one of the gods of my pantheon - not particularly for the movie version of Magneto. So, who?
Once again I'll fall back on Shakespeare, or semi-Shakespeare, and say Ben Jago, played by Christopher Eccleston, in Othello. And heck, since I'm cheating with Shakespeare anyway, I'll add Keanu Reeves as Don John in the Branagh Much Ado. If I give the impression that I loved that movie... it's because I did.
Oh - I just thought of a great alternate pick of villains - Arnold Vosloo and Lance Henriksen as (respectively) Pik van Cleef and Emil Fouchon in John Woo's Hard Target.
3. Name one movie everyone else loves that you hate.
"Hate" may be too strong a word, but I disliked the original Star Wars.
4. Name one movie everyone else hates that you love.
The Sound of Music. I adore that movie. I love it more every time I see it. I think it's clever, exciting, romantic, snarky, snappy, visually striking and insightful. Okay, I know a lot of other people like it or love it too, it isn't universally disliked, but I know many people who think it's sappy. It isn't.
5. What's your favorite Pixar film, and why?
Oookay, deep breath here, and big confession: I don't think I have ever liked a Pixar film and I hope I never ever have to watch another one.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-15 02:50 am (UTC)But you know, generally when people post "movies that everyone..." I end up sayimg, no, everyone doesn't. Like your #3 - I thought Star Wars was adequate. However, I'm going with "everyone" on #4 - I HATE the Sound of Music!
And then back to form: I don't like Pixar, either.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-15 03:54 am (UTC)My friends all seem to love Pixar movies, and having sat through several of them for frienship's sake, I'm not looking for ways to get out of it in future.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-15 01:30 pm (UTC)I think the scene where the Captain and Maria are dancing the Landler is one of the most decorously erotic scenes in film. :-) In fact, I think it is more erotic because it is decorous -- but hey, that's just me.
no subject
Date: 2006-09-15 01:37 pm (UTC)