1. Comment with your name and I'll tell you what fandom(s) I associate with you. 2. Post this in your own journal so I can see what fandom you associate with me.
I associate you with JAG of course, because I read and enjoyed your stories so much, and if it weren't for you sending me tapes I'd never have seen the show at all.
But I will always associate you also with Guy Gavriel Kay fandom, because if you hadn't written a Tigana story I'd never have met you. I'm still really impressed by that.
Thank you so much for the praise of my Tigana story. It's dear to me for many reasons, but chief among them is that it's the story through which I met you. :-)
I was happy to send you JAG tapes, and you've helped me a lot with my stories. Thank you again for that.
I reread Tigana recently and enjoyed it so much I'm thinking of rereading all the other Kay novels. Have you heard that he's finished another, and it's not historically-based?
It's a pleasure helping you with stories too. Somehow we've gotten out of betaing for each other. Perhaps we could start that again. I'd like to.
I'm going to read Tigana soon, probably after I finish some more of the back issues of comics that have piled up so. I had heard that Mr. Kay had finished a new novel, but not that it wasn't historically-based. I'll be very interested to see that one, but then I'd have been very interested in anything new by him! Thank you for letting me know.
Somehow we've gotten out of betaing for each other.
I haven't been asking you to beta anything because, dammit, I haven't been writing anything. I intend for this to change. Soon.
I am happy to beta your stories anytime. Just send them on. Just ask. Really!
Comics - I'm somewhat behind on comics myself. I'm particularly trying to stay up to date on reading "52", since it comes by so fast! Though I'm a little disappointed in it - I find it somewhat slow paced, and the plotline that really hooked me (The Question and Renee Montoya) seems to be stalled. Mind you, I haven't read the latest issue yet - and there must be a new one today.
This reply is almost embarrassing. I find that I assume, at a totally irrational level, that you appreciate all the same fandoms I do, because your range and my range overlap in such delightful places. I tend to trust you to recognize my references to, say, a Lymond quote, or to a reference to the Endless, or a character in the Silmarillion, or any number of things that I would normally assume that people I meet don't generally know about unless I've confirmed it first. (Sort of like the time Guy Gavriel Kay asked me if I'd heard of Dorothy Dunnett and I was, for a second there, too stunned to even answer him.)
I suppose if I associate you with any one fandom it's books, and if it's books it's Dorothy Dunnett and Mary Doria Russell, because I value them so much that the love spreads to all my friends who also value them.
I also associate you with Quakers now because of my admiration and interest in them.
That is quite possibly one of the most flattering things anyone has said to me.... ever. You, too, are firmly ensconced upon my fannish island of the elite. I have, actually, repeatedly told my mother I want to be you when I grow up. (He did? Wow, I would be too. That's stunning. Did you proceed to geek out? Oh, say yes.)
Oh, yes. Oh, that is possibly the most succinct explanation of the bleedover of adoration that comes from loving, not just books, but the other people who read them too, ever.
Yay Quakers! I love Quakers. They have their flaws (oh, the sixteen hour Business Meeting stories I could tell you), but, for a semi-organized (HA!) religious group, I like 'em, and that's saying something.
I have, actually, repeatedly told my mother I want to be you when I grow up.
Now I'm the one to be flattered. Wow.
Did you proceed to geek out? Oh, say yes.
Yes, of course, we both did. We started throwing trivia questions at each other and comparing favourite characters. It was wonderful.
Yes, Quakers are one of the things that gives me hope for our world. That some people can get it right.... when most of the world seems to be getting it wrong.
The more I think about Norrington in PotC 2 the more I like it. If I can ignore all the 'blah blah blah' with Davy Jones and Will and just focus on Norrington, I find that I quite liked the movie! :D
So now I just want all kinds of Drunk! Norrington icons.
The more I think about Norrington in PotC 2 the more I like it
Well, I liked the whole movie, though I do confess I got impatient with the Kraken. But Norrington - his new nickname online is "Scruffington" - he's the best part.
Haha, Kraken = giant toothed vagina? That cracked me up.
Scruffington definitely, definitely was the highlight. As was Barbossa at the end; I love Barbossa and prefer him to Davy Jones. I want him back!
There also seemed to be too much Will, not enough Jack. Will is only in doses WITH Jack, dull otherwise. There was a lot of talking going on in the middle of the film, mostly with Will's father and Davy Jones, that bored me to tears. I'm hoping after a few viewing it makes more sense.
I am familar with the image from comic books. Tentacles and all.
I love Barbossa and prefer him to Davy Jones. I want him back!
Well, just wait - you're getting your wish!
I preferered Davy Jones, on the whole, but thought he'd have been better if he's had his scenes edited more.
There also seemed to be too much Will, not enough Jack.
Hmm. Again, I thought that in the first movie. Here I liked Will better and so didn't mind much. I would have liked to have heard more Will-Jack repartee, but the Jack-Elizabeth repartee sort of made up for that.
I liked Bootstrap Bill, especially his scenes with Will.
I don't remember anything that really didn't make sense to me, except the dice game, which I assumed was supposed to be absurdist.
Agreed; better editing would have helped. I had moments where I thought 'oh, there's Davy again,' lol, which wasn't good since he was a neat character. Like with Will, I need doses.
I thought there was a lot of Jack in the first one, and more Will in this one. *shrug* It was Will's backstory so I understand.
Liked Jack/Elizabeth. How couldn't you? She was more fun, less cliche. I felt they were trying to be more serious in this film; everything in the first movie seemed a total play on stereotypes. Here they were really moving along into the story and breaking out of character, which is probably good for the sake of a trilogy.
I was hoping for a movie separate from the trilogy, like the first one. Though I liked the cliffhanger!
I don't think the dice game was supposed to make sense either. There was just a span in the middle where I felt bored, but I suppose I might feel the same way about Pirates 1 if I'm tired enough.
Seems fair. I would have liked more cohesion in the characters - they didn't interact verbally as much as I might have liked - but since I enjoyed the plotline, that wasn't really a problem.
Liked Jack/Elizabeth. How couldn't you?
I thought they were actually really hot together. And they got the best banter. I liked it that she got the best of him, and then cried about it.
I was expecting a stand-alone movie, but I really loved the cliffhanger ending and the surprise of seeing Barbossa walk in.
And yeah, it's funny being your own fandom's fangirl. I wish I could share the wonderful world of Eden with everyone but I'm uncomfortable sharing too much with too many, since I would like to publish it one day. :)
But any questions you ever have, feel free to ask - I could talk about his life for days!
Okay: how and where does the story start? Did you start at the beginning and continue chronologically, or are you writing scenes and bits as they come to you and seem interesting? Is there a story arc, or a series of story arcs, or is it an ongoing narrative? What is your timeframe?
I associate you with certain Buffy characters - especially Giles and Ethan, because you once wrote a or two fic with them that I liked so much I'll never forget them.
I associate you with Lionel Luthor because he's a favourite we used to share. Also with Brimstone's Satan, and the Floronic Man.
I also associate you with Methos and Kronos.
I can't help thinking that John Constantine is your kind of character but I don't recall seeing Constantine fic from you.
You may, but I can't recall dates or where I read them, perhaps if I browse your website I can find them again. I remember that they were hot and dark and Giles and Ethan were both very interesting.
I read a Constantine/Ethan story I'll never forget too, I think it was by Jane St. Clair. (Whose work I admire.) That's what got me curious about Ethan, which got me reading your stuff.... And then your Lionel Luthor pieces really made me an addict of your style.
I kinda miss Lionel, the way he could've been but wasn't, thanks to his lousy canon writers. I wish I could do something with him somehow.
I think we both speak of the same Cosntantine story, I think it was called Border Men and is still available online. Cool to know it bounced you my way.
If you remembered anything about the fics I wrote, what was in them, I could've had a chance of finding them... oh well, it's just idle curiousity anyway :)
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 03:12 pm (UTC)This could be a fun meme. :-)
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 03:35 pm (UTC)I thought so!
I associate you with JAG of course, because I read and enjoyed your stories so much, and if it weren't for you sending me tapes I'd never have seen the show at all.
But I will always associate you also with Guy Gavriel Kay fandom, because if you hadn't written a Tigana story I'd never have met you. I'm still really impressed by that.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 01:22 pm (UTC)I was happy to send you JAG tapes, and you've helped me a lot with my stories. Thank you again for that.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 01:30 pm (UTC)I reread Tigana recently and enjoyed it so much I'm thinking of rereading all the other Kay novels. Have you heard that he's finished another, and it's not historically-based?
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 01:38 pm (UTC)I'm going to read Tigana soon, probably after I finish some more of the back issues of comics that have piled up so. I had heard that Mr. Kay had finished a new novel, but not that it wasn't historically-based. I'll be very interested to see that one, but then I'd have been very interested in anything new by him! Thank you for letting me know.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 01:41 pm (UTC)I haven't been asking you to beta anything because, dammit, I haven't been writing anything. I intend for this to change. Soon.
I am happy to beta your stories anytime. Just send them on. Just ask. Really!
Comics - I'm somewhat behind on comics myself. I'm particularly trying to stay up to date on reading "52", since it comes by so fast! Though I'm a little disappointed in it - I find it somewhat slow paced, and the plotline that really hooked me (The Question and Renee Montoya) seems to be stalled. Mind you, I haven't read the latest issue yet - and there must be a new one today.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 04:54 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 05:30 pm (UTC)I suppose if I associate you with any one fandom it's books, and if it's books it's Dorothy Dunnett and Mary Doria Russell, because I value them so much that the love spreads to all my friends who also value them.
I also associate you with Quakers now because of my admiration and interest in them.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-14 01:20 am (UTC)Oh, yes. Oh, that is possibly the most succinct explanation of the bleedover of adoration that comes from loving, not just books, but the other people who read them too, ever.
Yay Quakers! I love Quakers. They have their flaws (oh, the sixteen hour Business Meeting stories I could tell you), but, for a semi-organized (HA!) religious group, I like 'em, and that's saying something.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-14 01:31 am (UTC)Now I'm the one to be flattered. Wow.
Did you proceed to geek out? Oh, say yes.
Yes, of course, we both did. We started throwing trivia questions at each other and comparing favourite characters. It was wonderful.
Yes, Quakers are one of the things that gives me hope for our world. That some people can get it right.... when most of the world seems to be getting it wrong.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 06:22 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 06:26 pm (UTC)And Claes van der Poele, a.k.a. Nicholas de Fleury, a.k.a. Cola, a.k.a. Niccolo.
But you're another pan-fandom person I feel I can discuss a lot of my random interests with. Veronica Mars, for example.
Hey... nice, niiiice icon you have there.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 06:32 pm (UTC)So now I just want all kinds of Drunk! Norrington icons.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 06:40 pm (UTC)Well, I liked the whole movie, though I do confess I got impatient with the Kraken. But Norrington - his new nickname online is "Scruffington" - he's the best part.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 06:50 pm (UTC)Scruffington definitely, definitely was the highlight. As was Barbossa at the end; I love Barbossa and prefer him to Davy Jones. I want him back!
There also seemed to be too much Will, not enough Jack. Will is only in doses WITH Jack, dull otherwise. There was a lot of talking going on in the middle of the film, mostly with Will's father and Davy Jones, that bored me to tears. I'm hoping after a few viewing it makes more sense.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 06:53 pm (UTC)I am familar with the image from comic books. Tentacles and all.
I love Barbossa and prefer him to Davy Jones. I want him back!
Well, just wait - you're getting your wish!
I preferered Davy Jones, on the whole, but thought he'd have been better if he's had his scenes edited more.
There also seemed to be too much Will, not enough Jack.
Hmm. Again, I thought that in the first movie. Here I liked Will better and so didn't mind much. I would have liked to have heard more Will-Jack repartee, but the Jack-Elizabeth repartee sort of made up for that.
I liked Bootstrap Bill, especially his scenes with Will.
I don't remember anything that really didn't make sense to me, except the dice game, which I assumed was supposed to be absurdist.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 07:00 pm (UTC)I thought there was a lot of Jack in the first one, and more Will in this one. *shrug* It was Will's backstory so I understand.
Liked Jack/Elizabeth. How couldn't you? She was more fun, less cliche. I felt they were trying to be more serious in this film; everything in the first movie seemed a total play on stereotypes. Here they were really moving along into the story and breaking out of character, which is probably good for the sake of a trilogy.
I was hoping for a movie separate from the trilogy, like the first one. Though I liked the cliffhanger!
I don't think the dice game was supposed to make sense either. There was just a span in the middle where I felt bored, but I suppose I might feel the same way about Pirates 1 if I'm tired enough.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 07:04 pm (UTC)Seems fair. I would have liked more cohesion in the characters - they didn't interact verbally as much as I might have liked - but since I enjoyed the plotline, that wasn't really a problem.
Liked Jack/Elizabeth. How couldn't you?
I thought they were actually really hot together. And they got the best banter. I liked it that she got the best of him, and then cried about it.
I was expecting a stand-alone movie, but I really loved the cliffhanger ending and the surprise of seeing Barbossa walk in.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-11 11:44 pm (UTC)But any questions you ever have, feel free to ask - I could talk about his life for days!
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 01:22 am (UTC)Okay: how and where does the story start? Did you start at the beginning and continue chronologically, or are you writing scenes and bits as they come to you and seem interesting? Is there a story arc, or a series of story arcs, or is it an ongoing narrative? What is your timeframe?
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 02:11 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 02:25 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 02:26 am (UTC)Course it's not the same having someone tell you a story as opposed to experiencing it for yourself.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 03:20 pm (UTC)Y'know, I just might.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-12 09:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-07-13 01:04 am (UTC)I associate you with certain Buffy characters - especially Giles and Ethan, because you once wrote a or two fic with them that I liked so much I'll never forget them.
I associate you with Lionel Luthor because he's a favourite we used to share. Also with Brimstone's Satan, and the Floronic Man.
I also associate you with Methos and Kronos.
I can't help thinking that John Constantine is your kind of character but I don't recall seeing Constantine fic from you.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-27 06:07 am (UTC)I never wrote Constantine, but I read one Constantine/Ethan that i don't think I'll ever forget...
no subject
Date: 2006-07-27 01:24 pm (UTC)You may, but I can't recall dates or where I read them, perhaps if I browse your website I can find them again. I remember that they were hot and dark and Giles and Ethan were both very interesting.
I read a Constantine/Ethan story I'll never forget too, I think it was by Jane St. Clair. (Whose work I admire.) That's what got me curious about Ethan, which got me reading your stuff.... And then your Lionel Luthor pieces really made me an addict of your style.
no subject
Date: 2006-07-27 03:34 pm (UTC)I think we both speak of the same Cosntantine story, I think it was called Border Men and is still available online. Cool to know it bounced you my way.
If you remembered anything about the fics I wrote, what was in them, I could've had a chance of finding them... oh well, it's just idle curiousity anyway :)
no subject
Date: 2006-07-27 03:40 pm (UTC)Lionel... was brilliant, sometimes. At his best. Then he just got confusing.
Border Men... Yes, I think that was it.