The Da Vinci Code...
Jun. 11th, 2006 10:24 pmI went to see The Da Vinci Code with Harry and Sheila today.
As I expected, it worked better than the book - the absurdities were nicely smoothed over, Langdon didn't seem quite so clueless, and it was easier to overlook the holes in the logic. And unhistorical though it is, I must admit that I got a kick out of seeing the historical sequences of the Templars, Mary Magdalene, whatever. I guess I'm such a history junkie I'll take my thrills anywhere I find them.... Well, not quite anywhere. Yesterday Lyn phoned me to tell me there was a show on TV about Robin Hood. My century. Okay, I turned it on, and couldn't stand more than five or ten minutes of it.
Fiction is a different matter. The Da Vinci Code had in that way a bit of the feel of episodes of Highlander, the flavour of history without the substance; history as a background to fantasy.
Sheila and Harry both thought Tom Hanks was excellent. I can't see it. He always seems boring and bland to me. No personality. I did like Ian McKellen - of course - and for once I liked Paul Bettany. Usually I avoid his movies - I find him creepy. Since Silas was supposed to be creepy, he was perfect and I loved his performance. Silas was my favourite character in the book, too. Not that this is saying much.
I wouldn't want to see the movie again, but I was neither bored nor annoyed. And this time, I understood the end of the story - what exactly was buried in or under the Louvre.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-12 09:14 am (UTC)I think they would have been wiser to market the whole thing as fantasy in that way. The problem, of course, was Brown claiming in the preface that all the historical material in the story was factual.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-12 11:29 am (UTC)So it's a book I love to revile. And yet zillions of people (and many of my dearest friends) loved it and Dan Brown can laugh all the way to the bank. I may not respect his writing, his integrity, or his probity, but I can sure admire his bold and brazen success.
And it gives me a little perk. When a friend comes to me to ask about some historical non-fact from the books, starting out "is it really true that..." I get a chance to tell them my views on the history - an opportunity not to be missed!
no subject
Date: 2006-06-13 05:50 am (UTC)Bettany is also not creepy (IMO, anyway) in Master and Commander, which is an outstandingly excellent film anyway and he's wonderful in it.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-13 12:58 pm (UTC)I didn't like Bettany in Master and Commander either, which was a great disappointment. I can't help finding him creepy - I don't know why I do. It's just the way it is.
I haven't seen him in anything else, except The Da Vinci Code.