Veronica Mars: Drivers Ed...
Oct. 6th, 2005 07:49 amSo once again I visited Nonnie and we played Boggle with Annie and Maggie and Nonnie demolished me, though I plan to destroy her in the nest game. Really.
Loved Drivers Ed, and I love Logan more than ever - he has all the best lines even when he only has a few lines. His best moment this time was, "If the cuddling afterwards is the best part, you're doing it wrong." But he was also great... and chilling... at the shooting range.
I liked it that Wallace had his own mystery case, but I didn't like Wallace as much as I did at the end of last season. He seems so lightweight compared to other characters. I'd rather be seeing his Mom. I liked Jessie Doyle, and I liked the way she was protective of her little brother.
Aside from that, I have questions: Am I supposed to find Jackie so obnoxious? Was the corpse at the end Ed Doyle? Why is Veronica being so snarky with Deputy Leo - guilt? Why would Keith Mars want to be sheriff again - is the pay better than a private detective gets? Or the prestige? What is Mr. Casablancas' job? Are there veiled threats in the dialogue Mr. Casablancas has with Logan - which would imply he suspects something - or is he just an insensitive macho jerk who is trying to be nice to Logan? How does Logan manage to be so hot anyway?
no subject
Date: 2005-10-06 11:55 pm (UTC)Keith Mars wants to be the sheriff again because he has a hero complex, or at least a deep and abiding sense right and wrong. He can't stand to see people in need and in pain treated the way they are under Sheriff Wazisface.
I think Mr. Casablancas is just one of those super Alpha male type personalities who can't relate to other guys except in a semi-aggressive way. Look at the way he treats Dick and Beaver. He likes Logan for being stronger than his own sons (who are the way they are because of the way their father raised them!), but at the same time Logan probably drives him nuts for being so confident and snarky. He simultaneously respects and resents Logan.
That's my read, anyway.
I have no idea how Logan manages to be so hot, but if we could figure it out, bottle it, and sell it, we'd make a killing.
Is there any decent VMars fic out there to your knowledge? I have a craving but have never managed to satisfy it.
no subject
Date: 2005-10-07 12:07 am (UTC)Sounds about right. And being restored to the Sheriff's position vindicates him - proves that he was right all along, and fit for the role.
Besides, it must drive him nuts to see a corrupt incompetend pretending to do the job he used to have.
Still, if I were him, I'd want the independence of private work. And I wouldn't want the problems of an election. On the other hand, the problems of an election make for a good plot!
I think Mr. Casablancas is just one of those super Alpha male type personalities who can't relate to other guys except in a semi-aggressive way.
That works. It also heightens the suspense and raises the stakes - when Mr C. learns that our Logan is screwing Mrs. C. he's more likely to be violent than to be cool about it. And Logan knows this. I loved the scene at the shooting range.
He likes Logan for being stronger than his own sons (who are the way they are because of the way their father raised them!)
That sounds perfectly true- he probably thinks Logan is a good influence. Heck, he probably secretly admires Aaron Echolls!
He simultaneously respects and resents Logan.
That would explain his attitude exactly.
Is there any decent VMars fic out there to your knowledge?
Not that I've found. Let's make a deal: if you find any, let me know. If I find any, I'll tell you. Okay?