fajrdrako: (Default)
[personal profile] fajrdrako


I watched the first episode of Veronica Mars last night. It seems that it's being shown twice a week -
that is, they advertised the 'next episode' as being on Thursday. Really?

My reactions:

(1) Whoever said Veronica Mars was like Chloe Sullivan in "Smallville" was right. And her father was like
Chloe's father, and the family relationship between the two was similiar, right down to the mother having
walked out of the family. I think Chloe (and/or Alison Mack) has more looks and personality - a more
*exaggerated* personality - but that may be an unfair comparison; I've been watching Chloe for 4 years now
compared to 45 minutes of Veronica. Anyway, I liked her, and I like her style, and consequenty really
liked the narrative style of the show.

(2) I didn't like Duncan Kane at all. Yuck. If I had to pick Lilly's killer right now, I'd pick him, just
because I disliked him. I had no sense of what he father was like. Is Veronica's mother the mysterious
woman he was meeting at the Camelot?

(3) I liked the way the murder puzzle was set up, though I was surprised to see that the murder predated
the first episode by quite a bit.

(4) The date-rape angle from the party was pretty intense, and I liked the way it was handled - and that
Veronica has secrets from her father and she knows he has secrets from her. I would guess her father is
trying to protect her mother? Did her mother perhaps leave in order to protect him, or Veronica, or both?

(5) I liked the guy with the motorcycle gang - was that Weevil? (I wasn't very good at picking up
names.) The Hell's Angels types in my part of the world never look that good - but hey, this is an
upscale California town of rich people, so it makes sense that the motorcycle gangs would be unusually
clean and pretty. (Do such towns actually exist?)

So generally speaking, the mystery angle seems okay and it got me curious, the style of the show is great,
and I liked Veronica herself, so I'll be trying to catch it tomorrow too.

Date: 2005-06-02 03:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lastscorpion.livejournal.com
Yep, Weevil's the motorcycle guy. Veronica's Pete-like sidekick, Wallace, is the kid she rescued from Weevil's duct-tape-and-flagpole thing in the pilot.

Real Southern California is nothing like what you see on TV, except for the scenery.

Date: 2005-06-02 11:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
Thanks for the confirmation! I find I'm quite looking forward to seeing it again tonight.

Southern California is pretty. Well, mostly.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 11:21 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios