Smallville: Spell...
Nov. 11th, 2004 07:41 amAs usual, the best scenes were the ones with Lex. Especially the scene where Clark found him playing the piano. That really caught the attention in a way the rest didn't.
Clark naked and being abused was okay too, though you wonder at the show's definition of 'virgin'. The worst thing was that it was Jason, not Lex, who rescued Clark. Even in the middle of extreme and outrageous events wrecking his life, Jason manages to be boring.
Kristen Kreuk got a chance to act, really act, and she wasn't any more palatable than she usually is. Why she needed Chloe and Lois as her magical stooges, I'm not sure. Are witches supposed to come in threes?
What I liked - conceptually if not actually - was that they dealt with an aspect of the Superman myth that has always intrigued me: that Superman is vulnerable to magic. I didn't think they'd touch that one, but they did. Putting Clark up again an evil witch woman is nicely classic, though I'd have been happier if it had been Circe. The episode was ... well, Ithre should have been more Luthor scenes. I would have liked it better if the witches had not been Lana, Chloe and Lois, even if the story was essentially the same.