Smallville - Transference....
Oct. 28th, 2004 08:13 amWhy is it that all the really greatest episodes are Luthor episodes? I watched "Transference" this morning at 6.15 a.m., sprawled on the sofa while the birds chriped up a storm because they love having company in the mornings. (And besides, they like Smallville too.)
Thoughts:
- It made me laugh out loud, and get caught up in the suspense. I got downright teary at some moments - like when Clark convinced Martha it was him, and then when Lex hugged Clark, who didn't hug back.
- The acting was terrific from both Welling and Glover. They were both able to let out the stops. Brilliant!
- Lionel wants Martha. I knew it! And wants to be cruel to Chloe and is willing to mess with Lana. All is as it should be. I would have liked a little more interplay with Jonathan, but... once I thought about it... Lionel is so contemptuous of Jonathan he wouldn't bother.
- The acting was terrific from both Welling and Glover. They were both able to let out the stops. Brilliant!
- Lex: glad to see Clark back, even if Clark still lies to him. And he thanked Clark for saving him from Lionel's transference!
- Lionel's cellmate - did he have a name? What a great geek villain. And in league with the Swann/Crosbie people. Cool.
- So what does Lana's witch ancestress have to do with anything?
- Wonderful use of plaid flannel.
- Jason Teague gets my 'most boring character of the series' award. He's even more boring than Pete Ross was, and more useless. The boy needs a personality, fast. Is that why Lana likes him - because there's no one there? Sheesh.
Oh what a great episode. And I forgot to get the writer's name.... I'll just have to watch it again!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-28 10:42 am (UTC)Smart birds.:-)
Clark!Lionel's revelation about his first experience superspeeding made me particularly misty because I could just imagine Clark growing up questioning why all these different abilities are emerging.
Though I loved the performance of both JG and TW, I was particularly impressed with how well TW captured JG's Lionel mannerisms. And the voice... mmmm.
Jason Teague gets my 'most boring character of the series' award. He's even more boring than Pete Ross was, and more useless.
At least Pete gave off the impression of being interested in members of the opposite gender, whereas I'm not even sure about that when it comes to Jason. *g*
Oh, but this is SV, and not liking icky, cootie-carrying girls is probably a thing to be treasured (see Kent, Clark in "Devoted").
no subject
Date: 2004-10-28 10:54 am (UTC)Yes, TW playing JG playing Lionel was brilliant. I was totally convinced!
no subject
Date: 2004-10-28 11:17 am (UTC)Hee! Though given Jor-El's penchant for nudity, I would tend to question the possibility of his Kryptonian leanings.;-)
And as a minion of Lex's? I can just imagine the conversation, "Mr. Teague, I need you to look into some mysterious circumstances surrounding my boyfriend..." Because I'm 12.:-)
Oh, and given the way this particular episode ended, I could totally believe that Jason McPrettynBland is in fact a spy sent by Swann's.
no subject
Date: 2004-10-28 01:07 pm (UTC)