I didn't have time to watch Smallville yesterday. I got up at 6.30 a.m. this morning to watch it before work. It was fun, curled up in my comforter on the sofa, with the birds all quiet because they didn't think it was time to get up yet, sensible budgies that they are. They are now in full chorus: the sun is up, the leaves on the trees outside my window are so red they seem to be glowing.
My reactions to "Run":
Things I didn't like about the episode:
(1) Bart was annoying. I might have been more tolerant if he hadn't said "dude" every time he spoke. What a brat!
(2) Not enough Clex. Okay, it was pretty slashy, but I want more. They come so close, and back off. More! More!
(3) No Lionel. The Martha/Jonathan subplot was kind of lame, but I liked their last schmoopy scene. Even though I tend to want to say, "Martha, Martha, leave this schmuck, you could do better!" I know he's what she wants so it's all rather sweet.
Things I did like about the episode:
[1] Lex and Clark being friends. I'd like to think that Lex thought that Clark came to the Mansion late at night because he wanted to be with him, then got cold feet when the alarms went off and security turned up.
[2] Clark stayed with the unconscious Lex till the cops turned up, and so let Bart escape. I like his priorities. I hope he cradled the unconscious Lex in his arms. And I have no doubt he did.
[3] They settled the age-old question, who is faster, Superman or the Flash?
[4] I always like scenes with Metropolis gangster. I loved seeing Lex play hero with them. But why didn't he bring security? Was he hoping that Clark would show up? as he did?
[5] I love it when Lex is snarky with Clark. "A friend wouldn't lie to me." And Clark tries so hard to look innocent! I'd like to think that Lex thinks it's as cute as I do. I wonder what Lex made of Bart. Loved it that he told the gangster to leave him alone - "he's just a kid". I could hear him think the rest: "...and he's a friend of Clark's."
[6] The mysterious Kryptonian map on the medieval Russian manuscript. I've become sort of conditioned to not like it when Kryptonian things turn up on the show because Kryptonian things on this show mostly turn out to be nasty, but the map is intriguing.
[7] I loved it that Bart used all the Flash names - Barry Allan, Jay Garrick, Wally West.
[8] I wonder how much Clark was remembering his own days as a thief in Metropolis while he was telling Bart he shouldn't be a thief.
[9] I liked it that there was such a twist on the Flash story as we've had it in the comics - that we encounter Bart, but he's a criminal. It gives me hope for Lex, in a show were DC heroes are bad (Kara being another prime example!) so consequently DC villains can be good.
[10] I still wonder why Jason is so sweet to Lana even when she's bitchy to him. The man is a doormat.
[11] Loved the scene where Bart was coming on to Chloe and she was intrigued by his magic with the tulip. Now, that was cool! Too bad we didn't see more of Chloe. It disappoints me when Clark says "Chloe can help me with this" and she does, but we don't even get to see them talking about it. I like to see Chloe doing her thing.
[12} Lex is still glad to see Clark when he walks into his office.