fajrdrako: (Default)
[personal profile] fajrdrako

This is one of those days when I get loaded with unexpected work....

Bought a newspaper today. A rare event (which I often find a waste of money), but I wanted to see the election results and they are very interesting. There was an editorial which said the Canadian electorate voted as they did because they were angry, and another editorial that said they weren't angy enough. Huh? What does anger have to do with elections? Yes, yes, I know their logic, but I think it's ridiculous: we should vote because we have a vision of what the country should be like and which policies are best for the common good, not because we're throwing a collective temper tantrum.

Kelly Egan had a cute commentary in The Ottawa Citizen, though:
The Greeks may have invented democracy and marathon running; it took Canadians to combine them into a national sport. And so we awake this morning, ragged from our national nervous breakdown. Let me be the first to wish you happy Canada Day."


And:
Has there been an election in recent memory during which the word "lie" was conjugated so frequently, so exhaustively: They lie, they lied, they're lying, they're liars, it's all lies.


Well, maybe if they stopped lying, people would stop calling them on it.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 08:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios