fajrdrako: (Default)
[personal profile] fajrdrako

Watched the Smallville episode Crisis again tonight, this time with [livejournal.com profile] blackbyrde, [livejournal.com profile] lmondegreen and [livejournal.com profile] maboroshimaki. I loved it as much as ever. They didn't seem to think the plot entirely made sense, though I thought it did.... and the one thing they asked me about, they didn't buy my explanation. Oh well. It made sense to me!

Very tired... a few hectic days are catching up with me and the fatigue level is rising.

A couple of days ago I read the trade paperback version of Brian Michael Bendis' Ultimate Spider-Man vol. 4. Today I read the first half of Ultimate Spider-Man vol. 1, the story that is a rewrite of the Stan Lee/Steve Ditko classic origin of Spider-Man. Now, I think Brian Michael Bendis is one of the best writers in comics today; but I don't think he has the right touch for Spider-Man. It isn't quite witty enough, isn't quite light enough. Doesn't have the spark I remember. Stan Lee wasn't nearly as much of a stylist, but he injected a wonderful level of joie de vivre into the Spider-Man dialogue that I find missing here.

This isn't to say I'm not enjoying these. I also managed to pick up a somewhat-mangled copy of Ultimate Spider-Man: Learning Curve for free. Hot damn.

I'm trying to find a good picture of Faramir for my scrapbook. No luck so far.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios