fajrdrako: (Default)
[personal profile] fajrdrako

Amazing. Simply amazing. I love it when a TV show can surprise me. What an ending. What a stunning ending.

Once again, John Glover's acting was unsurpassed and my admiration for him knows no bounds. I loved the various lines equating Lionel with the devil, like his comment to Dr. Tang: "Your government doesn't have much use for womeh who have consorted with the devils of western capitalism."

I like the way Lex and Clark work together here - and I'd like to see more warmth between them, but what we have is fun: trust in each other in an edgy situation. I liked the way Lex can't say "no" to Clark when he says "please", and the way Clark insisted Lex was innocent. I liked the new set of Metropolis cops and the involvement of the FBI. I liked the temporal anomaly - which of the writers recently watched Frequency?

Lots of inclusion of Lana, but the plot had me gripped so I didn't care, especially since there was no pining or whining going on between her and Clark.

I imagine we've seen the last of Adam, at least for a long while. I feel vindicated in my insistance that he was a good guy. And it was fun, I admit, to see him shoot Lana!

Smallville is such an odd show. Such a contrast between the good episodes and the bad, between the generally 'blah' episodes like last week's and the true suspense this week.

Date: 2004-03-03 06:12 pm (UTC)
thornsilver: (Default)
From: [personal profile] thornsilver
I have deeply disturbed myself by liking Lana in this episode. Well, except for the obligatory "Clark/Lana are starcrossed lovers" scene.

Date: 2004-03-03 06:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
I have deeply disturbed myself by liking Lana in this episode.

"Liking" would be too strong a word but I liked her role in the plot, I felt a certain unusual sympathy for her, and I didn't find her self-obsessed or manipulative. Which is a great improvement!

Well, except for the obligatory "Clark/Lana are starcrossed lovers" scene.

Which I worked at ignoring. This was delightfully easy to do.

Date: 2004-03-03 07:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mlleelizabeth.livejournal.com
Lana theory: she borrowed one of Martha's (pretty cream & blue!) sweaters and the good Martha vibes rubbed off on her. ;)

This was an excellent ep. The ones in which Clark and Lex work together always make me happy. I'm glad Adam was good, too. Would have felt kinda cheap somehow if he was a bad guy.

Date: 2004-03-04 05:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] fajrdrako.livejournal.com
the good Martha vibes rubbed off on her. ;)

That must be it! A magic sweater - I wonder what would happen if Lionel wore it?

The ones in which Clark and Lex work together always make me happy.

Me too. I'm happy if they're just both together for a scene or two (or more) but it's best when they're in the same storyline.

I was sure Adam would be good and I really wanted to be proved right. Poor desperate Adam - I wanted to see a happy ending for him.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 12:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios