Feb. 28th, 2011

fajrdrako: (Default)




I made a chicken recipe for an Oscr Dinner Party tonight and I think I should write it down before I forget what I did. Academy Award Chicken Legs... )

fajrdrako: ([Captain Jack Harkness])




Watched the 83rd Academy Awards tonight.

I don't always watch. Some years I don't respect any of the nominations. Some years I dislike the big movie of the year so much I don't want anything to do with the awards. Some years I don't like any of the movies enough to care.

This year, I loved The King's Speech enough to care very much. [livejournal.com profile] aurieaephialia and [personal profile] fairestcat came over and we watched the whole thing, with supper followed by snacks. And I enjoyed myself thoroughly.

I even enjoyed looking at the dresses. I remember one year all the actresses wore black. Then the next year, they all wore white. This year we had a variety of lovely dresses of all colours (including black and white), and Anne Hathaway proved that she looks lovely in everything. I liked her blue dress bsest - the second to last one she wore. Really liked Melissa Leo's dress, too. Loved the song where Anne Hathaway teased Hugh Jackman, especially about being "wolver to your ine". I think she'll be a terrific Catwoman - assuming there is a decent script. She had a lot of charm, and James Franco seemed happy to be her straight man.

I wanted The King's Speech to win more categories than it did, especially "best costumes". I will concede that though the costumes were absolutely perfect, subtle, detailed, and magnificently authentic, they weren't stunning like Alice in Wonderland. By the time they got to "Best Actor" and "Best Motion Picture", I was perfectly happy. And once again, Colin Firth made me cry, a little, with his acceptance speech.

Now I want to see those other movies.

fajrdrako: ([Methos])




As I often do, I dreamed last night of Malta.

In this dream, I was working there, with a man who looked like James Franco. Our work came to an end, and he was going home to Alberta. I was trying to get in touch with [livejournal.com profile] rosiespark for a well-earned holiday.

I wish.

fajrdrako: (Default)




How often do you wash your bed sheets?

I read somewhere that anyone with allergy problems should wash their sheets at least once per week. Since I broke my elbow, stripping the bed has been difficult, and making the bed even more so, so I want to do it as little as possible. Before then, I washed the sheets every Friday. Theoretically.

I don't use blankets, but a duvet, and I wash the duvet cover when I wash the sheet and pillowcases - about once per month. Assuming no soiling, spills, or stains, assuming no specific need to do it more often, what is a good average? I don't want to be a slob, but I don't want to be over-particular, either.

In the laundry room today I was chatting with a neighbour and asked him how often he washed his sheets. "Not as often as we probably should," he answered, which I expected, but then he said, "We wash our sheets about once a week. We used to do it every day, when we had a washer in our apartment."

Every day. Boy, does that make my housekeeping look bad.

On a Google search, I found this advice site, which seems to say that once a week or once a month are both pretty much all right, except in cases of bad allergies.

Answers.com says wash them every one to two weeks, period, and once a month is not enough.

Fynadvice says every two to three weeks.

Advice?

fajrdrako: (Default)




I watched The Social Network this afternoon.

I thought The King's Speech was a far better movie, much more deserving of an Oscar for a variety of reasons, including structure, acting, theme and depth of thought. But I did like Trent Raznor's music in The Social Network, so that was an award well given.

This isn't to say The Social Network is in any way a bad movie. For a while I thought it was badly structured, then a few details made me think the structure wasn't so bad. The climax (if there was a climax) was weak, and I didn't feel at the end that I understood Mark Zuckerberg any more than I did in the beginning. I was left wondering the point of the movie: was it an exposé? A characer study? A social study? A piece of early 21st century history?

The main character was possibly the most despicable person I've seen as the subject of a biopic. A person with no morals, ethics, or conscience, no loyalty to friends or anyone else, no sense of responsibility or honesty, no caring for others at all.

I wondered through the movie what his goals were. He wasn't particularly trying to conquer the world, or make money. Was he playing with businesses and computer programs just because he could? Success for the sake of success? To get girls? To show up everyone else? I ever did find an answer.

My favourite moment was at the end, when... )

Watching this made me a little ashamed that I use Facebook at all, as if it might taint those it touches.

Camelot...

Feb. 28th, 2011 09:44 pm
fajrdrako: ([Camelot] - Merlin)




I watched the new show Camelot this evening.

Loved it. It's very Maloryesque, and they're taking the story seriously in a way they don't take it seriously in Merlin, which I appreciate mightily. I like the sets, costumes and actors - one episode, and I'm feeling quite excited about it.

Read more... )

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:24 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios