Medical....
Jan. 14th, 2004 10:21 pmIt was cold, and I was tired, and I had to go for a mammogram today. They used to annoy me by putting a sign in the changing room, all decorated with flowers, "we hurt you because we love you". They changed it: now it's undecorated and simply says, "we compress you because we care". Still not really palatable, but better. Not so twee.
There was a cheerful 80-year-old in the interior waiting room who cheered the place up with her comments about our glamorous little paper vests. I browsed a magazine (Vogue? Vanity Fair?) with an article about Canadian comedians. I didn't know Matthew Perry was from Ottawa, but then, I barely know who Matthew Perry is (and had to get
I seem to be in some government program to keep track of people in my age group who get mammograms. Near as I can tell, the only difference from the old system will be that (a) I get the results of the mammogram mailed to me as well as to the doctor, and (b) I'll be reminded to get it done again in two years. That's good; I never remember how long it's been since the last time. It's always tempting to procrastinate.
The clinic feels like a hospital, but it's much prettier and seems to have a lot more money.
no subject
Date: 2004-01-14 08:09 pm (UTC)I had my one and only (so far) mammagram done by a sweet young tech (female) who was very good at her job, and it didn't hurt at all. Which is good 'cos she didn't have any balls for me to threaten to kick if she hurt me. That was 2 years ago and I'm having my next one done next month. Not worried a bit.
no subject
Date: 2004-01-14 08:20 pm (UTC)I applaud your sister for her gumption! We need every person we can get to defend womankind in the hands of the medical profession.