Bitches and total bastards...
Jan. 2nd, 2012 09:19 pmI have been looking at a lot of Facebook pages recently for one of the jobs I'm doing, and I am enjoying it immensely - seeing what people put up about themselves.
One thing I don't understand: the people who start out their description with phrases like "I'm a total bitch". Are they proud of it? Or is it a joke? Or a form of self-loathing? I never know how to take something like that. I'm not even sure what they mean by it.
no subject
Date: 2012-01-03 08:26 am (UTC)I remember seeing a sticker at some point saying "BITCH stands for Being In Total Control of Herself", or something along those lines.
It means, in this world, in this day and age, "I'm strong".
...Not for everyone. Many just mean they're rude and unpleasant people, I guess, and warn you in advance.
no subject
Date: 2012-01-03 04:59 pm (UTC)What it's warning for depends upon whether the person in question is referencing the very real phenomenon that women who have strong preferences, tastes, opinions and the like are typically called "bitch" in this culture (see: every comment about me on Fandom Wank ever; every troll secret about me on Fandom Secrets or Lolita secrets ever), or is actually telling you flat out that they're an asshole and they're not going to stop being an asshole just because YOU complain about it.