30 Days of Marvel Meme: Day 2...
Dec. 18th, 2010 10:56 pmDay #2: Your favourite villain
Magneto. He first appeared in X-Men #1, where I thought he was a dork. I thought the comic was the most wonderful comic I'd ever read, but the villain? A posturing idiot in a dorky helmet.
Magneto did nothing but improve with time. He's had some magnificent storylines: as headmaster of Xavier's Academy for Gifted Youngsters in The New Mutants, as a freedom-fighter in The Age of Apocalypse, as leader of the Acolytes living on an asteroid, as the monster who tore the adamantium right out of Wolverine's body, as Rogue's (and Rahne's) protector, as Joseph the amnesiac, as a Jewish child in a Nazi concentration camp, as Emperor of the world in House of M, as Xavier's oldest friend and rival ... oh yes, Magneto as his best is as good as it gets. Master of the Melodramatic Gesture.

But I'm not sure Magneto really counts as a villain. He started out as a villain, yes, and he's been going back and forth over the divide ever since, but half the time he's a hero, and he's current a bona fide member of the X-Men himself, for all Scott Summers mistrusts his independent ways. So saying Magneto is a villain really isn't accurate... he's sometimes a villain, but not now.
Second choice: Exodus.

He used to be a knight in the Crusades. His name is Benet de Paris. He was one of Magneto's devoled Acolytes. He's totally fruity. Of course I love him!
X-Men get the best villains in comics.