Snow...

Dec. 14th, 2010 10:07 am
fajrdrako: (Default)
[personal profile] fajrdrako




It's snowing today. No biggie: December and snow go together like peanuts and salt. Though after all yesterday's ice... We now have a layer of snow over ice, just like when I broke my ankle. If I have to go out today (and I hope I don't) I'll be extra careful.

This got me thinking again how badly snow is handled on television and in movies. Sometimes it's just bad effects: snow really doesn't look like confetti, but you do sometimes get big flakes: and I suppose it has to be so to look good on television. Still. When it's big blobs of white falling from the sky, it really just looks fake. Doctor Who did this really badly on the first Ood episode.

Then there's the matter of clothes. The worst offender here is King Arthur where Guinevere walked around in the snow in a light dress with bare shoulders and arms. I don't care if she's a woad princess: unless she's a superhero, she'd be suffering.

It happened again in Leverage last night. It's snowing in Boston, and Parker stands happily in the snow with bare shoulders. Yeah, it was pretty. But with bare shoulders? For more than a few minutes? I can only say that I wouldn't do it.

'Course, we can forgive a lot because it's pretty.

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 12:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios