Home again...
Dec. 5th, 2010 10:55 pmI arrived home last night, on an airplane that was actually ahead of schedule. I don't think that's ever happened to me before.
A busy day: I started a new exercise/diet plan - I'm at the stage where it's fun. I love the novelty. The problems come when it become routine for me. I even did yoga again, which was odd: poses that were easy as pie a year ago (let alone twenty years ago) are impossible to me now, and being unable to put my weight on my left arm puts many poses out of my reach. Still, I enjoyed doing it, and felt better afterwards, and if I concentrate on standing poses, breathing exercises, and meditation, I should do fine.
I spent as much time planning my exercised and schedule, and printing it out, and putting it in a pretty binder, as I spent exercising. Procrastination? Partly, but it's more that I really enjoy the planning stages.
I went to Bridgehead with Pim, where we talked about Mayans and Toltecs over her coffee and my peppermint tea. By delightful synchronicity, on Wednesday, the same day I was in the Mexican jungle hearing Pacal talk about the difference between the two cultures, she was in Ottawa, reading a library book about Toltecs and researching their history. It might be spooky, if it weren't so cool.
At Bridgehead, you have to ask for the washroom key if you need to use the facilities. Turns out the key is attached to a rather dramatic wooden giraffe. When I returned it to the desk it became the fixation of a little boy about eighteen months old, but his father wouldn't let him touch it - said he hadn't learned to be gentle with things yet. This amused me enough to take a photo.
Beulah dropped by with my new copy of Apaplexy, and I put up my Christmas tree and ornaments. It was a little tricky to wrangle the tree out of my locker in the basement and bring it to my apartment and set it up with one bad arm, but I managed all right, and felt quite proud of the accomplishment.
The little feathered guys are back with me, and I'm glad to have them.
I was horrified to see from e-mail discussions that some members of Apaplexy would like to put it online. I'm there because it's on paper. Keep it as it is - that's why it's fun! If I want to talk online, I use Dreamwidth or Livejournal, and have any number of bloglike alternatives. Apaplexy is precious to me because of the ways it's different.
Over a Chinese supper from Peach Gardens, we watched two TV shows that aired while
At least I still have Dean, who is still gorgeous and still heroic in his stubborn, cowboyish way. Makes it worth watching, despite all.
But who'd have thought, back in the X-Files days when I was infatuated with Skinner, that I'd ever find Mitch Pileggi boring?
Never mind. We followed that with Fringe episode 3x08, "Entrada". I've no idea what the title means, though my guess is that's it's Spanish for 'entrance'. Am I wrong, or am I missing some implication?
The previous episode ended with one of the best cliffhangers I've ever seen on television, and this continued on a high note - I was gripped by every scene. Adored both Olivia and Peter throughout, and loved the suspense surrounding the plot with alternate Olivia - oh, yes, Olivia is a tough cookie whatever universe she's in. And Broyles! Beautiful, brave Broyles! Not to mention clever Astrid. Gad, how I love that show. And the characters in it.