Watching TV...
Oct. 3rd, 2009 10:06 pmFrom Livejournal's Writer's Block: What is the longest uninterrupted period of time you've ever watched TV? Were you alone or with a friend/partner? Do you tend to watch more TV when you're happy, depressed, or simply bored?
- The longest uninterrupted time I've ever spent watching TV has been on January 1 of each year since The Lord of the Rings was released on DVD. Extended edition. We have a New Year's Marathon and it lasts about twelve hours,or a little more. Great fun.
- I was, on each of those occasions, with
maaseru,
explodedteabag,
lunacy_gal and other assorted Lord of the Rings fan-friends who come by for some or all of the occasion.
- I tend to watch most TV when I am in the throes of a new fannish passion. Usually my limit is maybe five hours per week; that number probably goes up when the new fall shows are premiering, because I get curious. But I usually don't watch television alone. I consider it a social activity, something I do with friends. When I'm home alone, I usually don't turn the TV on at all.
I never, ever, watch TV if I'm bored. There are times I have watched TV because I was too sick to do anything else, but I usually fall asleep or turn it off fairly soon in those circumstances. If I'm well enough to hold a book, I'll read instead.
Sometimes I watch a show alone if I am transcribing it, or making notes for a story, or working on a project. Or if I am doing exercises and want to watch something, but in that case, I watch things I have already seen. Usually something I feel fannish about.
I don't think being happy or depressed makes any difference.