fajrdrako: (Default)
[personal profile] fajrdrako


Made a fondue supper for [livejournal.com profile] masaeru and [livejournal.com profile] explodedteabag and we watched Supernatural episodes "Nightmare" and "The Benders" from season one. Season one really does get better as one progresses. All it needs is the return of John Winchester and it would be really good.

I don't know if it's just me but I thought Dean was particularly sexy in "The Benders". Which story was an almost exact duplicate of Torchwood's "Countryside", though of course Supernatural had it first, February in comparison to November 2006, and I believe they both got the storyline from movie sources anyway.

Date: 2009-06-19 06:05 am (UTC)
kikibug13: (Dean Uhm okay)
From: [personal profile] kikibug13
Mmm John will be coming back! And one can see how much of the boys' messed-up is his fault. *pets them both... well, all three*

And... yes it was a copy, but it also wasn't, since the focus was different a bit. Besides, it's the first episode of Dean!panic-because-Sammy-has-disappeared and it's special like that. Because whatever else, Dean is a good big brother.

Also, "demons I get. People are crazy!" is one very, very key line.

... I still don't count either of the two eps among my favourite. But they're decent.

... you're also watching things SO VERY RANDOM. I know the eps are self-contained and everything, but I've no idea how much of the development of the overall arc gets through like that. Because it actually is very craftily done; the pacing is very good, even with the curtailed S3, and the build-up is really well done. I'm looking forward to the resolution of S5. Whichever way that will go. >.>

Date: 2009-06-20 10:28 am (UTC)
kikibug13: (Default)
From: [personal profile] kikibug13
Heee :)

And yes, Dean... has his very random and very jerk-like moments; nobody ever taught him how to deal with emotions even remotely like healthy; but he also doesn't quite stop thinking. It's ... especially valid again in S4. Heh, watching through late s2 and s3, I was going, damn, they dumbed down Dean to focus on Sam - which I didn't like. Then in S4 Dean was back up to his game - not perfect, but clever, and oh yes, I approve!

... it's kinda random, story-wise. There are all sorts of reference to previous episodes and events throughout the later seasons; the writers are having a lot of fun telling the story sufficiently for the new watchers, but also making it mean even more for those who've seen it grow. There are lines and actions which only have a certain weight when one's seen how Dean's or Sam's attitude has evolved, and that happened... pretty much sequentially. In terms of character and story development, there have been no relapses - smaller or bigger, each episode has been pushing things in the direction where Kripke wants it to go. The consistency - is one of the reasons why I keep watching and rewatching and rewatching and rewatching so much?

But random or not it kept you interested? Just, I like the way I did, watching the story take shape, and become better and bolder in the new season. :)

Profile

fajrdrako: (Default)
fajrdrako

October 2023

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 03:06 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios